which BMS

markH

100 µW
All I need to know does it matter if I pick a BMS 30A or 50A with the 60V 20ah lithium battery pack I need to replace the original battery of my 2000W scooter. I'm a noob to electronics and just don't want to damage the controller that is rated DC 60V, Off Voltage
51V, Power 2000W. Thank you.

markH said:
All I need to know does it matter if I pick a BMS 30A or 50A with the 60V 20ah lithium battery pack I need to replace the original battery of my 2000W scooter. I'm a noob to electronics and just don't want to damage the controller that is rated DC 60V, Off Voltage
You really should actually measure the peak battery amps drawn by the drivetrain and make sure the BMS is rated say 20-30% higher.

In theory 2000W ÷ (lowest voltage 42V?)

I'd go to 70-80A but that's conservative.

john61ct

I'm not buying the battery separate from the BMS. The batteries I'm interested in offer either 30 A or 50 A BMS' built-in already. I'm concerned whether either will protect my system and if the higher is the better choice.

Then if not possible to actually measure your max amps draw,

I'd buy the bigger one.

And then tune your controller settings (or CAv3 add-on) so your drivetrain **can't** draw over say 43A.

In which case you may not be getting the max possible performance from the drivetrain, the pack being the limiting factor.

The batteries you are looking at should be from reputable builders/sellers like em3ev and grintech, because the basement dwellers flinging batteries to fleabay/ali's are not worth a second even looking at.

markH said:

the voltages youre giving makes me think your scooter had SLA batteries, 5 sealed lead acid in series. the lvc of controller is 51v.
is your controller 33amp?

if that's the case and you are upgrading to lithium. is the 60v 20ah battery a 16s/67.2v battery, 15s/63v battery, 14s/58.8v battery

16s could be too much voltage for your controller but lvc of 51v is fine and you have 16 usable volts