2nd hand e-scooter battery replacement

123soleil

1 µW
Hello,

Sorry, this is a real newbie question but I did research a lot and could not get very newbie-friendly information. The few videos I found assume the viewer knows about batteries already and focus on building them

I can buy a really cheap 1500w motorcycle with dead 48v/38ah gel battery. I will have to replace the battery but I have NO electrical knowledge or soldering skills (as much as Im interested in learning, I just dont understand most of it. And I'm too clumsy for soldering iron).

My question:

1. How easy is this to do? I dont want to build my own battery so what is the most plug and play solution besides ordering a new battery from the maker (now out of business)?
2. Any good ready made batteries? Im guessing i should go lifepo4 but the few chinese ones I found on ebay seam to be very amateurishly built and require some knowledge to use. if I give the scooter to my sister, will she be able to use it without accidentally blowing up or destroying the batteries?

Thanks!

Hi 123soleil,welcome to the forum.
You'll find that the dead pack probably contains 4 12V lead batteries. I have a couple of new old stock EVT 4000s that take 4 50Ah batts. You don't need soldering skills to change them, just a spanner, usually 10mm. I've seen some lithium battery come on the market recently that have built in BMS and are housed in a lead batt type case to be a drop in replacement. Search for RELiON or Galen's ENLiFEN. BTW, I'm not associated with any battery supplier.
Hope this helps.

AussieRider

Thanks for the quick reply. Yes, there are currently four 12v 38ah gel batteries. Can I replace them with any car batteries (of course all same voltage and capacity)? Or is it better if it is gel batteries like original? Will the charger work with other types of lead batteries?