Advice on upgrading rear hub motor in Gigabyke E-scooter

tdurett

1 mW
So I know I'm fairly new to the ebike game... just got my Gigabyke Groove a month ago. I found many issues with it, such as how outrageously heavy it is, slow acceleration, and poor hill climbing ability. The third time I rode it, it actually just stopped working altogether after only about a mile. No hills or any over exertion of the motor. Still have no idea what's wrong with it. I know I could test everything and figure out what is wrong and just fix it, but given it's downfalls in power and weight I felt it may be better to upgrade the hub motor, controller and battery. I can use the original parts to build a new mod on a lighter bike possibly. So I'm thinking a 48v 1000w-15000w rear hub motor with suitable controller and a new 52v 20ah li-ion battery pack. The battery change alone makes the bike lose about 30lbs right off (comes with SLA battery 41.5lbs). I guess my biggest question is, where is the best place to order hub motors and batteries??? I've been searching Ebay and AliExpress. They seem to have some very reasonable pricing. However, I do not want to order parts that I'll have to replace again within the next year or so. I want something affordable, yet reliable. What are your suggestions????

That is a good question and I would like to know myself where to purchase replacement batteries. The only place I know of is BikeBerry.com and they just show the entire battery package for $399.95. I found this battery on eBay, but it has a F2 terminal connector and not the screw in(Enduring 6DZM12 12V 14Ah Scooter Battery). There is also this one on eBay(6DZM12 12V 12Ah Scooter Battery Go Kart 6-DZM-12 E-Bike). I think they would be compatible with our charger that came with the Groove.
Maybe someone else here will know where to purchase the same batteries that came with our bike.

bike360 said: