Loose wires?

General Discussion about large electric scooters and motorcycles and other things with no pedals.
Post Reply
ford442
100 mW
100 mW
Posts: 35
Joined: Jan 31, 2017 7:26 pm

Loose wires?

Post by ford442 » Oct 02, 2017 7:14 pm

Hello,
I just got my electric scooter running again from a rough trip. 1000W "Citycoco" style scooter.
It required me to replace a wire. Now today, it has a sort of stuttering and power loss where it can't carry me uphill. I tightened the wire and the stuttering improved a little and the battery lights don't blink while it rattles, but does this sound/seem like a loose wire connection? It seems that every time it needs a higher amount of power something cuts out.
I have actually replaced the motor/controller/throttle, so it will have to be something to do with the headlight/key/horn/speaker/battery meter thing's wires to the controller.
Is is possible that my different gauge wire can be causing a wrong voltage kind of thing? I will try tightening again where I replaced, but is this a loose wire or perhaps one that is disconnected or wrong somehow?
Maybe I will upload a video..
Thanks for any help!

User avatar
x.l.r.8
10 W
10 W
Posts: 97
Joined: Jul 30, 2017 12:13 pm
Location: Toronto and Cambridge

Re: Loose wires?

Post by x.l.r.8 » Oct 05, 2017 9:57 pm

I'm no expert but my readings have led me to look at the obvious, if it sounds like power cutting out it probably is, do you have a watt meter, does your battery have a bms that could be tripping when you apply power. what was the wire you tightened up? where did it go. what throttle did you replace, are you sure its working properly. Also the secondary side of power is the neutral wires, did you check them.
Intelligence is distributed nearly evenly, with only the occasional concentration in one person. The total quantity of Intelligence is a constant: as more people come into being, fewer and fewer get a sufficient amount for themselves.
Some say this has already reached homeopathic levels.

ford442
100 mW
100 mW
Posts: 35
Joined: Jan 31, 2017 7:26 pm

Re: Loose wires?

Post by ford442 » Nov 21, 2017 5:59 pm

I have narrowed it down to a wire with copper showing - I need to go find an automotive wire repair thing to replace a length of it.

Post Reply