12S Battery charger/balancer

glassblower

100 µW
I just borrowed a Thunder 1220 from a buddy to charge balance several sets of 12S Lipo packs. It seems like a nice unit but curious if anyone knows of any other 12S Charger Balancer units out there for LiPo that you have used and like or dislike. I did a search and found only the Thunder and a Hyperion G3 VX. I'm new to Lipo packs (I have a lead sled right now) and looking for what else is out there. Don't really want to use two 6S charger balancers on a single 12S pack.

I assume you meant the Hyperion 1420i. That's the only other one I know of. I've had one going on 3 years now. There may be others out there, but the Thunder 1220 is going to be hard to beat at $90.

Thanks wesnewell, I looked at the Hyperion and the specs are pretty close. The Hyperion can push a little more current and do 14S, but I'm still leaning toward the Thunder 1220.

The hyperion went on sale for a while for like 120$ personally I think for that price it is better to grab one compared to the thunder power one.

But when they go up to 150$ the TP makes more sense.

I changed from an icharger 3010 to the 1420i just to have the capability to charge up to 14S. So far I haven't been disappointed.

If you have two Hyperions they can be networked together to do 28S. I've been happy with them and like the TCS setting at 95%

I do like my 1420net3 but it is fussy and has problems with the sense wire voltages and have to jiggle the wires to get an even reading of voltage and it does shut down and need a restart sometimes. Going to chance my sense wires and boards and recheck later, they all say I need to upgrade the firmware ? Over my head.

The Thunder is easier to use and less sensitive to connection problems than the Hyperion. I have them both and rarely use the Hyperion.
otherDoc

my pack is 12S too
smartbms ftw
for charging I use LED driver

i bot a 12S lipo in the D122 and the D126 you can click on this page.