RSP-2000-48 increase current output

vvv850

10 µW
Hi everybody,

I'm new here and I'd also like to mention that I'm not an electrical or electronics engineer. Everything I know in this field is self taught.

To get to the point:

I have a RSP-2000-48V that I want to use to power two hobby chargers, the Powerlab 8 Touch and the Powerlab 6. The problem is that the PL6 has an input voltage spec of 32V max and the PL8T of 48V. In this case, I've decided to trim the voltage of the PSU to 30V. Unfortunately, doing this, limits the output power of the PSU to aprox. 1260W (this is my understanding of the manual) when both chargers can suck aprox. 2200W at 30V.

Now, I don't really understand if the PSU limits the current to 42A or can go high to, let's say, 66A, which would reach the power limit of 2000W.

So, my question is, can I safely increase the current limit to 66A? If not, what is the limit on the stock PSU?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

PS: I forgot to mention that I read some posts on this matter including this one https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=64821&p=980948&hilit=rsp+2000+current#p980948 . Unfortunately I still have some difficulties understanding how this PSU operates because the specs state that the limit is 125% of output power not current.

Finally, I tried adjusting the current limit pot (https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=40692&p=960681&hilit=rsp+2000+current#p959597) and turned it clockwise.

I then tested the current limit with the two chargers I mentioned. It seems that with the pot at max turns clockwise the current limit is aprox 55A. Once it reaches the limit, it lowers the voltage slowly to try and lower the current. In my case, this has the inverse effect because the chargers will increase the current draw to satisfy the charging settings.