Is is it possible to build a 48 or 52v battery pack using removable (non soldered) 18650 cells

Hello, I have been looking for info about building a battery with removable 18650 cells. Every battery I have seen uses soldered connections. I understand that this is the preferred method however I need to travel and to ship, and that is not possible with large soldered battery packs.

I would like to build my own battery pack and make it so the cells can be removable. Perhaps a 14s2p or 14s3p configuration with 6-10ah and a max amp draw of 16a. Perhaps I could use plastic battery holders with the bms attached to the terminals on the battery holders. The batteries can be taped to the holders tightly with electrical tape, but when I need to travel I can remove the tape and remove the 18650 individual cells and then I can travel with them.

Has anyone built a battery such as this or is there anything theoretically wrong with this? I am new to the ebike scene so I do not know much about li-ion batteries. Thank you!

If you use suitable size cells to build your battery, you can make modules of less than 100Wh each, which are flyable when detached from each other, but can be joined in parallel for a larger pack after you arrive. A 13S 48V lithium ion battery would need to be made of cells no bigger than 2.079Ah (assuming 3.7V nominal cell voltage) to conform to regulatory limits.

Many high power 18650 cells are in the 2Ah range.

Grin Tech makes 36V modules that are sized and packaged for travel.
http://www.ebikes.ca/product-info/ligo-batteries.html

dilkes said:
Here's one approach to doing that.
https://vruzend.com/about/

Hey thanks! Those are neat, like legos for batteries :) Legos are right up my alley. It looks like you can build odd shaped batteries to fit in tricky places too.