Charging setups for high voltage packs

Danzzigger

1 µW
Hi all, first post. I have used the search function for the last few weeks to gain as much info as possible about my questions. That being said, if you have links to other posts in regards to my questions, please do so.

Bit about myself, I've come from the RC scene, started with nitro, got annoyed... paid the big bucks to get into electric and have never looked back. I have some basic knowledge of electronics so I understand most things until they get technical... then I use google :)

My intentions are to build a E bike with a 2004 DH comp frame. Been basing a lot of my stuff on Doctorbass's, Obiwan007, Ohbse, GCinDC and I feel like there's a few more I missed out.

Anyway I'll stay on track to my question in regards to chargers.
How are people charging their big packs? From what I'm gathering, a lot of people are using a 20+ cell BMS to charge the pack. Bypassing the discharge on the BMS as most of the cheaper ones don't have the amp rating capacity required to do so.
Then finding a charger to charge at the required voltage is the next hard thing. So I saw that a lot of people are using meanwell chargers and tuning them to get the voltage they require. From what I'm understanding, all it is, is a Constant voltage and Constant Current Powesupply. So technically it isn't a charger, but just a power supply, the BMS is doing the charging function? I don't understand huge amounts about charging cycles and how different chemistries work, I know that nmih is trickle charged at the end of its cycle. Is there not more to it than pushing a whole lot of 'power' (term used loosely) into a battery and then balancing (discharging) the cells to the same capacity as each other at the end of the cycle?

So I bought one of these ages back, was going to use it to power a stereo to take onto the job in a systainer. Got it cheap on ebay. These are like $25aud or something.