Building a quality 11t freewheel

auraslip

10 MW
I know the quality (and the price!) of the dnp epoch 11t freewheels bothers people. Other than the odd vintage shimano 11t freewheel popping up on ebay, it's our only choice though.

What I'm wondering could we build a better one?

Could we se a quality shimano freewheel and replace the cogs with either

:arrow: Cogs from the DNP

:arrow: Or even better, cogs from a cassette?

I know these questions probably answer themselves to those with experience, but I have little experience with the drive train of a normal bicycle.

The cogs seem to be all part of one large unit, and not seperable.. at least the lower ones.
I don't think you can mix and match. That seems to work with a cassette but not a screw-on freewheel.

I saw the DNP Epoch with the 11t.. but never heard of the brand. What's wrong with the DNP Epoch? total crap?

neptronix said:
What's wrong with the DNP Epoch? total crap?

I've had one ($30-$40 shipped) for a short period of time (1,000 miles?) it developed a "squeak" when cold and seemed stiff even at room temperatures. I shot some WD40 into the thing and it seemed to quiet down for a while but not much confidence in the "dull sound" of the thing when freewheeling.

I recently faced the decision of swapping it over to my new 9C DD rear but opted for a trusty old Shimano 13T. I'd like to have an 11T on rear hub but I don't think the DNP freewheel is high enough quality IMO.

Ahh Ykick.. i had a feeling. That is unfortunate.
My solution is a 13t and a single 48t gear in front.

http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?p=7787283&posted=1#post7787283
This thread is really helpful!
Lockrings.jpg

This pictures shows the lock ring from a shimano hyperglide freewheel.