KU123 36v 500W Controller

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.

KU123 36v 500W Controller

Postby d8veh » Mon Jul 18, 2011 6:46 am

I have just received one of these controllers from BMSBattery (Ecitypower) for my next project. It has some nice features: Cruise control, speed limit and 3 speed switch connectors. My last one was similar with cruise control but not the speed limiter and 3 speed switch. I like the cruise control, but it's difficult to set. You have to keep the speed/throttle constant for about 5 secs, which is difficult on a bumpy road and it gets cancelled each time you use a brake or the throttle. Ideally, I want to set my bike to cruise at about 12mph using the pedal sensor. My friend has a speed limiter switch on his 9FET Ecitypower controller but it doesn't work on the pedal sensor unless you hold full throttle which seems a bit crazy. So here's my questions:

1. How do I wire the three speed switch? I have one with three wires and there's three wires to the controller. How exactly does it work because there don't appear to be any components in the switch? Does it matter which wire goes where?

2. Does anybody know the logic of the 3 speed switch? Does it set 3 speeds for both pedal sensor and throttle? I've heard that on some controllers the medium setting gives higher speed than with it disconnected!

3. Does the speed limiter work on the pedal sensor and throttle, or only with the throttle open - like on my friends bike?
d8veh
100 MW
100 MW
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:45 am
Location: Telford

3 Speed Switch Wiring

Postby d8veh » Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:00 pm

As I didn't get a reply to my previous post, I'll try it this way:
I have a 3 speed switch with 3 wires to it. I have a controller with a 3 speed switch connection with 3 wires.
Does it matter which wire goes to which?
d8veh
100 MW
100 MW
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:45 am
Location: Telford

Re: KU123 36v 500W Controller

Postby SamTexas » Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:30 am

Yes it does. 2 of the wires are for 5V power, positive (usually red) and negative (usually black). The other one is for signal (throttle/speed level), voltage varries from 0 to about 4.x volt, on my Infineon controller, it's green.
SamTexas
1 GW
1 GW
 
Posts: 3018
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:34 am
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: KU123 36v 500W Controller

Postby d8veh » Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:36 pm

Thanks very much for that. Much appreciated. I can now understand the controller side, but the switch has three different coloured wires connected to three pins in a line. Is there any way to determine which is which?
d8veh
100 MW
100 MW
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:45 am
Location: Telford

Re: KU123 36v 500W Controller

Postby SamTexas » Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:51 pm

If you have a separate ~5V power source (most phone chargers are around 5V), you can try by trial and error. If something goes wrong, the most you will damage is your throttle.

That said, I made a wrong wire connection from the throttle to the throttle connector (controller side). Luckily it did not ruin anything. Don't know (don't recommend) if it's the same way on your controller.
SamTexas
1 GW
1 GW
 
Posts: 3018
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:34 am
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: KU123 36v 500W Controller

Postby DAND214 » Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:19 pm

The cruise on my BMS controller is the white wire. Cut and place a momontary switch to engage or disengage. Works fine.

As for the 3 way switch??? Let me know if you do find how, as I am stumped. I know infieons are setup to use it. but I don't think these are as I haven't found it yet.

Dan
It sure would be nice to know where we are all located, ON THIS WORLD.
Fill in your profile. It doesn't hurt.
I know some worry about being found.
I wish someone would find me.
DAND214
1 MW
1 MW
 
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Chicagoland nw suburb Mt. Prospect IL. USA

Re: KU123 36v 500W Controller

Postby d8veh » Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:14 am

I've now connected the controller and it's not what I expected The three wires from the controller are black, red and blue. I measured the voltage on each pin and I get:
green +5v
Black +0v
Blue +5v

The three speed switch has three wires : red, black and blue. I measured the resistance between the wires with the switch in each position:
Black and red closed in position 3 (0 ohms)
Blue and red closed in position 1 (0 ohms)
all other possibilities are open

So, it seems it must work digitally rather than analogue, but I'm now totally confused.
Can anyone sort out the logic for me. Any help will be much appreciated. The controller is giving 40amps with or without the speed limit engaged, which is much more than I want. The throttle is more or less on or off.
Dave
d8veh
100 MW
100 MW
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:45 am
Location: Telford

Re: KU123 36v 500W Controller

Postby FMB42 » Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:03 pm

I was looking at what appears to be your controller on the BMSbattery website and the connector color codes they show under the "KU123_controller_diagram" do not seem to match the connector color codes on your unit.

Here's where I found the diagram:

http://www.bmsbattery.com/controller/36 ... oller.html

The PDF can be downloaded from the link shown at the bottom of the page:

KU123_controller_diagram
KU123 High speed controller diagram

Not sure what's going on here but, this wouldn't be the first time that I've seen web based manufacturer wiring diagrams and color codes that don't seem to match what they sell.
FMB42
10 kW
10 kW
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:12 am


Return to E-Bike Technical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ridethelightning and 4 guests