1st ebike build, 48v battery suggestions

bobguyjones

1 µW
I would like to convert my bike to an ebike and this is my first attempt at doing so. I feel like I've found a kit I like (yescomusa rear 1000w 48v rear hub kit or something similar off ebay if they don't get kits in stock soon). However, I'm having a lot of trouble deciding on what to do on the battery end of things. I would like around 20 Ah as I need something that can go at least 18 miles. My goal is to go as cheap as possible as I have very limited funds at this point and need something soon so I'll probably have to go lead acid over LiPO.

Thanks for the help!!!

Don't bother with SLAs. You'd have to carry 50 lbs of lead in order to get 20Ah. Save your money to buy some LiPO or A123 LiFePO4.

The problem with the SLA is weight, about 70 pounds for 8 12ah bricks, and space to mount the batteries.

For cheap but plug and play safe chemistry I got a 48v 20ah LiNiCoMn from BMSBattery for $400 plus shipping. It only weighs about 14 pounds:

http://www.bmsbattery.com/48v/249-48v-10ah-lithium-ion-electric-bicycle-battery-pack.html

A number of us, myself included, have had BMS problems with this battery, but I just purchased and installed a new BMS and all has been good ever since. The operating characteristics of this battery are more like the SLA's in that the voltage has a constant drop during use.

You don't need 20ah to go 18 miles. You can get 20 miles at 20mph with 10ah of 12s rc lipo. Cost $150. Or a 15ah 48v battery pack will be more than enough.

Cool, thanks for all the input. I was kind of hoping someone would come up with a $50 solution (a man can dream). In the mean time I'll look into rc lipo ($150ish seems reasonable) and see what I find. Just wondering though, how do you estimate amp hours to distance?

*****Just a rough estimate, rule of thumb for NewBE****

one amphour = 1.5-2 miles

so 2 times 6 series 5 AMP hour bricks (for 12 series 5 AMP hour) =distance of 7.5- ten miles.