Mid-drive Regen Brainstorming

qwerkus

10 kW
Hello,

I built 2 ebikes so far with ready made after market kits, got already addicted, and moving to the next project. As I live near mountains, the feature I miss the most is a good Regeneration solution. Since questions about regen pop up on regular basis, I figured it would be nice to sum it all up in one thread. I'm far from an expert, so feel free to correct / expand this.

I. To regen or not to regen ?

Probably one of the more controversial qestions about this topic. Whithout going too much into details, I'd propose the following answer to that question:
a. On flat or relatively flat roads with a lot of commuting stops, regeneration is probably not worth the extra weight, drag and complexity.
b. Things are quite different in hilly or mountaneous aeras with long steep climbs, and equally long downhills. There Regen can make quite a difference. Though recoverable energy varies a lot, mostly between 10 and 20%. See this famous analysis: https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=7891

One thing often forgotten about regen ist the amount of current your battery pack is able to use. Most cells are asymetrical, and can only take 1-2C charge-current. This means that more than 20% regen is probably not suitable anyway.

II. Hub regen

1. Direct Drive
The only market ready option if you want regen, are heavy and inefficient Direct Drive motors. While those certainly shine when it comes to reliability and silence, they come with some serious drawbacks:
- heavy weight, and perhaps even more importantly for mid to high power solutions: heavy unsprung weight
- drag
- low torque per Kg - difficult climbing
- poor efficiency (see torque ripple and cogging)

2. Geared Hub