Mid-Drive Build - comments and recommendations welcome

FlightService

100 mW
As a good friend always said "Either do it or shut up" So here we go.

I am looking at a mid-drive build. Probably start after the first of the year so I will be picking up pieces between now and then.

I am a first time builder but I do not want a hub drive. I do not like the balance being that out of whack. Also, I am a mechanical engineer so I figure out how to break most things in the most spectacular way.

The bike I have chosen, due to cost, fit, and availability is the Specialized Sirrus Sport Disc. I am 6'5" and this thing fits me and was a good deal ($150 used local) I have fun riding it.

The intent is to use this bike as a commuter. I live in the DC metro area on the NOVA side and there are plenty of trails. I have a 10 mile commute to work that no matter how I cut it is an hour. By my calculations, I can match this on an e-bike easy peasy. (And by calculations I mean checking 3 different bike route calculators and talking to 2 riders that commute to the area on the same route I would be taking).

tumblr_p1bkxhVJqf1s0h1t9o1_1280.jpg

So using a MAC 6T going both directions and nowhere else, without me peddling at all (worse case scenario) I need a 13,300 mAh pack, or a 17 Ah pack with a reserve for off days and normal cell decline.

I originally was looking at the Bafang BBSHD, but I am not a small guy. I didn't want something that would be stressing itself for the uphill climbs it would be looking at. So it would work but from all the research it would be a marginal choice in the application.

That leads me to the cyclone 3000W kit from Luna. Yes I know I do not need 3000w. Doesn't mean I have to spec the system for 3000W or gear it to need it. It is also cheaper than a BBSHD and lends to the steampunk look I am going for on the bike.