Bonanza "Bulldozer" Dual PhaseRunner AWD

Alan B

100 GW
REI Novara Bonanza Aluminum Mountain Bike Before

DSC_5048.JPG

In Progress (working but not completed)

DSC_5335.JPG

This Bike's Photo Album

https://picasaweb.google.com/115808145206794427034/BonanzaALMTNBikeEbikeProject?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCIyLjb_NgLvnEg&feat=directlink

Details

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?hl=en_US&hl=en_US&key=0Av_rcFhwbIYVdEpvUHdndTVDZU9tZmpicndyY1lDN1E&output=html

How we got here:

Every year or so I get interested in assembling an e-bike for my commute. But with a 13 mile each way route with lots of climbing it has never appeared to be practical. However that seems to be changed now due to better batteries (lithium), controllers (FETs) and motors (magnets). So now I'm contemplating it again and have read a couple thousand posts on here in the last few days (thanks for all the info!).

I'm a Software and Electronics Engineer who used to ride motorcycles and recently designed and built a microprocessor based high power (15A 60V) flashlight controller using A123 and LiMn cells, so the technology in this project is somewhat familiar, but this is my first e-bike.

So I would love to get some comments on the practicality and specifics of doing this project.

On to a few details. I have a pristine aluminum mountain bike that is a few years old from REI (found the receipt, it is a 2000 Bonanza AL, and I estimate it has less than 50 miles on it - I didn't ride it much). It has aluminum forks with Zokes front suspension, SRAM 5.0 9 gear rear cluster and twist grip SRAM 7.0 shifting. It has V brakes but it looks like there are mounts for a disc on the front forks but not the wheel. No apparent disc brake mounting holes on the rear frame.

I found the Bike's specs online here: http://www.rei.com/product/646002 (no longer valid)