newbie needs help with kit install

Timbo

10 W
G'day E-bikers!

I'm new to this & have struck some wierdness with a kit I'm trying to install. It seems like the motor is not centered on the axle or the axle is bent or both of these things. I've attached a bunch of photos that are pretty self explanatory. The wheel that was removed prior to this adventure sat dead centre & ran true so I'm sure it's not a problem with the forks........ The new wheel & hub look to be trued pretty well, but could be a bit egg shaped :roll: , but that another thing........

Any help would be appreciated!

Welcome to the forum, your problem looks bad but is easy to fix by what I can see.

a) the motor too close to one fork: just slip a washer or two in-between, to give desired clearance. Or get different designed fork with drop-out brazed flush to inside, they're available secondhand, I know because I bought one :)
b) the non centered wheel can be fixed by dishing the wheel slightly. A bike shop will true & dish the wheeel for about $20.

Hope that helps, and good luck with the new set-up.

recumbent said:
a) the motor too close to one fork: just slip a washer or two in-between, to give desired clearance. Or get different designed fork with drop-out brazed flush to inside, they're available secondhand, I know because I bought one :)
b) the non centered wheel can be fixed by dishing the wheel slightly. A bike shop will true & dish the wheeel for about $20. quote]

The solution seems manageable, so that's a relief. I bought the kit locally so I'll see about the supplier paying for or carrying out the dishing. I'll look into alternative forks too. I'm a bit concerned about CMolly and torque issues.....

fechter said:
What kind of motor is that?

motor is from Electric Vehicles Pty Ltd, an offshoot of Currie down here in the Antipodes. Here's a link to their site:

http://www.currietech.com.au/index.shtml?openmenu=