Recumbent BikeE for Comfort and Efficiency

Alan B

100 GW
Recently I joined the recumbent owners club. This is an experiment, I have no prior experience with recumbents. My interest in them stemmed from the desire of going on some longer rides with friends. 100 miles on my mountain bike just seems like an ergonomic disaster to neck, lower back and wrists, and the higher aerodynamic efficiency of the recumbent should reduce the energy required for these long trips where battery is a challenge. The comfortable, relaxed "lawn chair" seating position of the recumbent design allows for longer rides without as much strain on the body. A geared hubmotor glides without resistance, and provides good climbing torque without the weight or high power of a DD hub.

So I picked up a used bikeE to try out. This may not be the final platform, but it seems like a reasonable start. The particular unit I have is little used and came with the manuals. It has been stored indoors and is in good condition. Here is a snapshot:

DSC_7296.JPG

Here is the picasa web album for this project:

https://picasaweb.google.com/Alan.Biocca/EBikeEProject?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCOD0ns2Z9JSK-AE&feat=directlink

The rear wheel is 20" and the front is 16". The rear hub contains a 3 speed SRAM internal gearbox plus a 7 speed cog set. There is a single chainring in the front.

So, given that I want to have an efficient system for long range, and lots of pedal input, and moderate speed, I'm wondering how to e-power this bike? There are lots of choices. A rear Magic Pie? A rear Gearmotor? A front motor? Something through the chain? A left side chain drive?

I will need good hill climbing, up to 15% at times. The build will not start for awhile as I'm still working on some other builds. This will be #4.

edit: Correction. On 1 Feb this project was accelerated to be ready for 11 Feb Mega Monster Enduro. So it edges in front of the earlier started 'Borg build, and will finish in #3 position.

Updates: