Bionx vs others in "feel" of the riding

qofmiwok

1 µW
Hi
I have been researching electric bikes for a few months. Finally I got a chance to ride several different types: Hebb, E-moto, Pedago, and a Bionx system.

First let me give you my back story. I am a 110 pound 48 year old woman living hear Lake Tahoe. I love to bike, on bike paths and on trails with my mountain bike, but I am awful on hills. I want an electric bike to help me get up hills without having to walk and slow everyone down. I don't care how fast I go, and in fact don't like to go too fast. I probably would never ride over 20 miles. But the most important thing is that I want to feel like I'm riding a bike. Those first 3 bikes, even while in lowest assist mode, felt like glorified motorcycles. I couldn't even find a way to get a workout without the bike forcing me to go way too fast. (The Pedago was the worst; it takes off when you are standing next to the bike if the pedal happens to turn.) Finally I rode a Bionx and it was completely different and just what I was looking for! I was actually riding the bike myself (what a concept!), and it just helped me get up hills. I understand that Bionx detects the torque you are exerting on the pedals and uses that to know when and how much to kick in.

So the question is, what is that technology called that works like the Bionx, and are there other bikes that use it? Most of the bikes say they use torque sensors, but it is clearly different. Or is it not the technology but just the quality of the controller design? (My husband and I are engineers so you can answer technically.)