Please help me find the gremlin : /

rockwalk

10 mW
I'm relatively new to this and finished my first build a few months ago. My bike is acting strange and I need help. I'm relying on my ebike for transportation and it has left me stranded twice now by shutting off suddenly when it shouldn't.

My setup (all bone stock, no mods)
Fat tire mountain bike, 7 speed with 42 tooth bling ring
Bafang BBSHD
48V 20ah triangle pack from Luna
New color display, DPC-14

I ride about 14 miles to work, and pretty much full throttle the whole way from the south bay to century city. Some mild hills but nothing major. So I go to work on a full charge, get there no problem. Top it off at the office and ride home and it just shuts down after 11 miles or so. I was keeping an eye on everything, voltage was decent still, 46.5 and the meter on the battery read 2 of 7 bars left which used to be no problem. Put a meter on the battery and the voltage was true. Well the screen voltage reading starts to drop slowly until it gets to about 39V reading or so. I swapped out the screen in the field and the other reads no juiced either (DP-10, different model even). I let it sit and watched for a few hours and the voltage started to climb back up on the screen slowly.

WTF?

The last time it did this, I limped the damn thing home and immediately put it on the charger to see what would happen. The screed instantly shows the true voltage as when I put a meter on it and the display on the battery.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Brett in El Segundo

rockwalk said:
Well the screen voltage reading starts to drop slowly until it gets to about 39V reading or so.
This probably means the BMS shut off pack output to protect the pack from damage. Probably the cells are not balanced so a cell dropped below LVC under load.