snapping spokes

Geege33708

100 µW
I am new to this form but was directed here bt a tech from ebikekit.com I have tandem Terra Trike and it is a bad ass ride for my wife and I. Seniors, also a little heavy.I encountered a major problem and need advice on how to proceed. I was a block away from my house and heard a strange noise and upon checking it out I noticed a broken spoke on my e hub. I limped home at 2 mph and by the time I reached home a total of 10 spokes were broken. I purchased the heavy duty wheel package which is rated at 600 lbs (?). We are well below that and I am wondering if there maybe another solution such as a mag wheel or welding steel bars on the wheel. Any solutions would be greatly appreciated. I was told that someone has a trike that you used a moped wheel and heavy duty spokes. Can you enlighten me? Thanks, Geege33708

That's exactly how my spokes have turned to sphaghetti. One goes, then another, and a couple more, then a bunch = taco salad. Happens quick.
On the other hand, when I was pedal only I could go for weeks with 1 or 2 broken, twisted spokes. Ebike weight and speeds seem to magnify spoke problems in a hurry, to the point of having to replace the rim also being the norm. :x

Welcome to my world, Broken Spokes.

Normally you can go with a handful of spokes snapped or broken and be fine.

The key is not 10, 11 or 12 guage spokes, but the key is to have double butted spokes of 13G/14G where on one end of the spoke is 13G and on the other end of the spoke is 14G. It does need to flex, thats why the 13/14G is good. Too stiff a rim is no good.

Then to have a bullet proof wheel setup, a motorcycle rim is great to have. Holmes Hobby sells them specifically for ebikes. A moto 17" is equal to 20" bicycle, while a 19" moto rim is equal to 24" which I can only assume a 20" or 21" moto is equal to 26" bicycle. Its good to have with the larger hub motors because of the moto rims angled nipple seat.

Spinning Magnets did an article on it.