Advise on First ebike build

wheeler

1 µW
HI all, im new to the ebike scene and after getting a store bought ebike and finding the limitations or customisability (namely not being able to use a bigger battery) I want to build a custom one for commuting purposes and hopping you can help me out.

My use case is:
  • 30 - 33 Mph max speed
  • 50 miles one charge (cruising at average speed 20-25Mph)
  • mostly flat with a couple steep hill (I don't know the incline % but its not too terrible nor too long)
  • regen breaking (saving the breaks really appeals to me)
  • I weigh 100kg when wearing all my gear.
  • I prefer disk breaks.
  • Being able to switch between road legal and off road would be a big bonus (im thinking CA3 for this job)

Im thinking a hardtail mountain bike with front suspension (I need to get a new bike for this so suggestions are welcome).

I need the 50 miles due to a 25mile one way trip with no chance to charge, I realise this is a long distance but im happy to put in the effort on the way home at a slower cruising speed.
On that note, I have a 50V 27.9Ah triangle battery on its way to me from em3ev as it was the biggest I could find.

I dont want to spend too much, im thinking £500 ish for the bike and similar for the motor kit.

I really like the idea of a variable regen break of some kind.

Im thinking that a 1000w DD motor should do the job but I really dont know where to buy from, whats good or bad.

Any help/advise on this and where to get the parts is most welcome.
Thank you in advance.

Should be able to find a suitable kit here. Any bike with steel rear dropouts would be best.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_nkw=48v%201000w%20rear&rt=nc&LH_PrefLoc=1&_trksid=p2045573.m1684
The 27.9ah (1440wh) battery pack should be plenty for 50 miles if you stay around 20 mph.

I'm far from an expert, but here are some thing's I've gathered: