sharing my first build experience

an7h0ny

1 mW
Hello, this is my first build share and part review.

I started on my first build a few days ago and liking it. so far I built a battery box to house two hard case lipos and I wired it to use an arming plug to put the batteries in series. also used some d-sub connectors to be the go-between the battery balance leads, so I could quickly remove batteries from the box if I want to switch them out. I used copper core wires, which are harder and don't bend easily, partly because I had it laying around from a hot tub install, and I just like thicker wire strands. everything is 5.5mm bullets connectors on 10 gauge wire. When my arming plug is not plugged in, the batteries can be charged separately, thru the banana plugs under the d-sub and balanced by the d-sub. Charging can still happen with the arming plug in thru first positive and second negative banana plugs, but not balancing. I set it up like this because I already have a lipo charger and it only goes to 6s so I didn't want to buy another charger to do 8s, and I'm still kind of fuzzy on those on board battery management. Actually I couldn't find anything online except people talking about them, just didn't look hard enough I guess. The other end of the box will face the motor and those leads exit through Glands to keep them taught, I left the leads long until I decide how far I want the box from the speed control. Anyway my setup is "old school" if you will, as opposed to thin, streamlined enclosures with one charging port. that will be my next attempt, since this time around is for experience. I got a lot of soldering skill now. My box measures 5"x7"x2".