Evo Uberscoot citi 800W to lithium

Kapurnicus

1 µW
Hey guys. Just bought my first electric scooter off craigslist. Everything seems to be pretty well brand new except the battery life (the scooter sat uncharged for most of a year he said). Looks like I'll need to replace the batteries. It's 36v SLA. It seems stupid to spend $100 on bad batteries when I could buy better batteries. Doesn't anyone have lithium suggestions? I'm new to modding a scooter and I'm not sure exactly what I should do or what the best brands are. Please assume I know nothing about the charging and purchasing of these batteries.

I need a 36v battery pack and a charger from what I've read. Any suggestions?

Now..... I'm considering doing 48V, would that be a bad idea? Its an 800w 36v hub motor and I'm not sure where to get another if I fry this one. Parts seem to be scarce.

Hi,

first take a picture of the controller. Then we'll see what your options are.

Other Question: Do you already own a RC charger? (which can balance Lipos)

Oh man, I don't get emails when someone replies. I'll have to click the checkbox. I thought since it was my thread that would happen automatically.

Thanks for the reply. I haven't opened up the battery compartment yet, but I will soon. The controller should have 60V caps, but I'm not opposed to buying a 48V controller, it was really the hub motor I was worried about. I have some motor knowledge and common sense dictates that as long as I watch the temperature, an increase of 1/3 in power will not do any horrible damage, but I should probably watch it as the motor is bogged down (going up hill) as that makes the most heat.

It is probably safer to stick with a 36V battery, but I know nothing about what type to buy. I do not own a charger (not a li-po charger anyway, just regular 12 volt car chargers). I'm not sure where to begin looking for the best type of battery pack and charger. If i'm going got spend some money I'd like to get something with proven quality.