• Howdy! we're looking for donations to finish custom knowledgebase software for this forum. Please see our Funding drive thread

K2 FS MTB w/ HS3548 Crystalyte, Lyen Controller + 74V Lipo

mvly

10 kW
The title states it all.

I have been riding this setup for about 2 months now.

Here is the full bike:
View attachment 7

Here is my Setup:
Bike: K2 Base 3.0 2008 Full Suspension. I believe
Motor: HS3548 from Ilia on ebikessf laced on 26 inch wheel
Tire: Schwable Big Apple 26x2.15
Controller: Crystalyte 12FET sensorless mod to support CA connector and 74V
Battery: 74V13.5Ah nanotech Lipo Battery (2* 10s) and (3*4.5Ah)
Rack: got it from Performance bike

Performance settings:
30A limit on CA

Top speed so far:
30A - 37-38mph flat
35A - 40-43mph flat
I have not tried any higher since I don't know if my FS frame can handle it.

Pros:
A) at 74V, it sure can pull.
B) 37mph solid at 30Amps limit on CA
C) Full suspension makes ride plush.

Cons:
A) 74V*30Ah MIGHT be too strong for the frame to handle.
B) Since my Lipo setup is really light, it can be really unstable due to wind at high speed. At 50mph downhill, it wobbles more than my other Hybrid bike with 30lbs battery in the rear.

Here are some more images:
IMG_0355.JPG
Motor setup

IMG_0358.JPG
battery setup

I just bought 37V4.5Ah Nanotech batteries from HK and wired it up all in parallel/series to get 74V13.5Ah. I decided to use XT60 connectors, but plan to migrate to Anderson due to difficulties plugging and removing XT60 connectors.

IMG_0359.JPG
balance wires running to the front.
I have not completed this bike due to time constraint. I plan to run these balance leads to the front of the bike and connect 4 CellLog to it to monitor all the batteries

IMG_0357.JPG
Front view.

IMG_0370.JPG
Front Suspension. This one is 100mm travel I think. Either way it really helps with the cushy ride. Much better than my hard-tail ebike. I am never going to get another hard-tail ever again. haha

IMG_0369.JPG