Using an old car alternator to generate electricity...

I have an old alternator off a 1981 Civic Wagon. The engine is kaput, but it still has lots of good parts. Like the alternator.

I made a note of each color wire was attached to the alternator before removing it, and also found a wiring diagram so I could identify the function of each connection:
03109ee1b55c6b75e158181be586ad45.jpg

8ffd5520cfc1c1e7a30490e6f0203658.jpg

F: field coil +
E: field coil -
B: power coil +
N: power coil -

For anyone who doesn't know, (I sure didn't) alternators don't have permanent magnets in them. So in order to generate a magnetic field, power must be applied to the field coil. This means you have to put power into the alternator to get power out. This took a while to wrap my brain around.

By the way, "field coil" and "power coil" may not be the proper terms for these components. I'm still learning this stuff. But at least they're descriptive, right? Also note, this alternator has no voltage regulator. Second Generation Civics have an external voltage regulator, which I won't be using.

So a 12V battery on the field coil terminals will generate the magnetic field, and a multimeter or light bulb on the power coil terminals will tell me if its working. Also, its seems like a good idea to ground everything to the alternator casing, since that's how it's done in the car. Here's a diagram of how I plan to wire it:
dbee6b69332da00c9d32a7c2995bd50f.jpg

There's a couple features on this diagram that I haven't used yet. The switch to the battery, and the jumper from B (power coil +) to F (field coil +). Those I'll add later to try to make the field self-sustaining. For now I just want to see if I can make it work. Here's my actual wiring:
89c37e7140f4b48d22728c892b9ecb30.jpg