When XP is dead I will migrate to....

My brother has been bugging me to used Linux for a few years. I may get a new laptop in a couple years and start the new one on Linux while the old one is still working with Windows to make the transition easier...

Ubuntu Linux all the way! I only use Windows on one machine now and that's because I have to. I have a couple of pieces of equipment at my business that have controller software that runs under Windows.

I have been using Ubuntu for several years now. It's so nice not having to worry about viruses or all the other crap that goes along with it.

I couple of years ago I built my father a Linux box. He's in his 70's and he absolutely loves it. If he can make the switch anyone can.

I think the one issue that kills linux for some people is the lack of Silverlight and the ability to watch Netflix. Actually, you still can under Wine but that's another discussion. But so many people use Roku boxes or another streaming device for that purpose it's amost a non-issue these days.

Lessss said:
then add the os
---

The wine install is pretty simple, it's copy paste a few commands into terminal enter a password and done.

Yup, that's another great thing about Linux. There's usually a workaround for everything.

Ypedal said:
there is a workaround for almost everything , in every OS...

Lol, you're right. I didn't say that quite right... There's usually an easy workaround for almost everything in Linux.

I could go on and on about how much I like Ubuntu but OS's are a lot like a religion to some people. But, if you're in the market for a new OS you may as well try Linux. It's free after all. You don't even have to install it, just burn a live cd and give it a go.

Did I just here easy and linux in one sentence? ;)
Linux is well geeky. I'm not sure how it's even called an operating system. It's about as clunky as windows 3.1