2009 70 MPH Spincycle PIR/World Record setter, Josh K.

Josh K.

100 W
Hi Folks,

We took the opportunity to run our five year old hand built E Tek Equiped pedal trike at the Portland International Speedway, for the Worlds Fastest Electric Bicycle record. We are sending information in to the Guinness Book of records this week.
This Trike is Running on 500 amps of juice coming out of 48 volts, of Optima spiral cell yellow tops. 24,000 watts of power propelled me Zero to just over 70 MPH, on a 1/8th drag race track at the E power challenge this Memorial day weekend. It was great fun to have a nice and smooth closed course track to race on, thanks to the HPV guys in Portland. I have been running this trike around for the last five years, at about 20 miles an hour, getting a 40 mile run per charge, but this was awesome to be able to allow it's full potential to pour out on the track! I hope to see some more machines out there next year for the unrestricted E bike Drag racing... :lol:

Here is a photo before the race, as we checked on the Equipment, and made sure everything was a go...E trike power.jpg

nice Josh 8)
i hope the driver (you?) was wearing a bit more safety gear at the time ;)
Kudos on the speed, mighty impressive but of course you realise Docbass now has a target, hold the phone :!: :twisted:
seriously Kudos, do you have any more pics/vids from the day at all - i see there's a zero behind many other EV's?

Cheers,

D

What was your time in the 1/8th? Can you post your time slip with the 60' and 330' ?

I'm curious to see how the uber-ebikes leave the hole. How did other bikes do?

there is video of josh's etek trike in the 1/8 mile drag over on ohpv.org under tha capt's video and pictures.

in the first video of josh you can hear me cursing because i missed him with my camera because he was going so fast he was outa the frame before the shutter clicked, and on the second try, i got the last part of his rear wheel. times i heard were 12.09 and 12.47.