Custom Frame Cruiser:+/- finished pg.5

I've been working on this slowly, but since I just got back from the welder I think it's time to start a build thread...

Inspired by the WWII Harleys, I started playing around with Sketchup and came up with this:

IMG_8003.JPG

IMG_8004.JPG

I made a virtual me, complete with the e-bike grin, to test for sizing.

IMG_8005.JPG

I use C.ardboard A.ided D.esign frequently.

IMG_8008.JPG

I had the tubes bent at Accurate Tube-Bending in Fremont, CA. Two were just barely more cost that one, so I have an extra.

IMG_8010.JPG

The straight tubes are from Aircraft Spruce and Specialty. (All tubes are 1.5" x 0.083" wall 4130 Cromoly)

IMG_8075.JPG

I used the Harbor Freight tubing notcher. It's not industrial strength, and there are alignment issues with it, but if you look on youtube there are some good videos of how to work it.

IMG_8077.JPG

IMG_8078.JPG

The head tube and bottom brackets are cromoly from Paragon Machine Works. Here the primary frame is cut and laid out. I grew a little taller than the drawing.
IMG_8159.JPG

I designed this around a Farfle Swingarm for the Genesis V2100. Luckily, I have a V2100 on hand! I fabbed up some cromoly mounting brackets for the suspension.
IMG_8455.JPG

Pre-Weld layout:
IMG_8460.JPG

Post-Weld. I paid a local guy to tig weld it. The top tube doesn't hit the drawing exact, but I'm not unhappy. Plus, there were two packages awaiting my return from the welder.
IMG_8462.JPG

My new shock (a real one! not just a spring!) and the Giant Stiletto jackshaft assembly from Staton-inc that threads into a bottom bracket shell. Yes, someday this may become a mid-drive. :lol: for now, I just plan two chains--pedal to jackshaft, jackshaft to MAC hub in rear wheel, to keep the chainline from being so long.

IMG_8463.JPG

With the suspension installed. I used the old "spring" shock for fitting.
IMG_8464.JPG

With rear wheel installed for visualization:
IMG_8465.JPG