Qulbix 76R build

sailah

1 W
Hi first timer. Figured I would add my build thread.

I'm new to ebikes but I've built some fully custom adventure motorcycles by taking street bike frames and engines and grafting on motocross suspension. I have a fully equipped home machine shop so that should come in handy.

2MkMT03.jpg

I quickly decided a frame jig would be helpful to hold the bike as it's quite unstable. I mounted it to one of my favorite tools, my Southworth hydraulic lift table.

0IrKpNT.jpg

Plan is to run moto rims and Shinko SR241 tires

I ran into my first issue and hoping I can get some advise

I received my Marzocchi 380 forks and went to mount the cane creek headset. I noticed it did not want to go in square, so I decided to measure things.
The headtube is severely out of round. I measured 1.718" (43.64mm) in the 12 & 6 o'clock position if you were sitting on bike, and 1.740" (44.2mm) at 3 & 9.

So the headset is tight fore and aft and rocks easily left to right. My first thought was to jig up the frame on my lathe and line bore it but I simply don't have enough material to do that. I could machine some cups and weld them to frame but now I will have wrecked the paint.

It's obvious the weld pulled the tube out of square, quite common. If I were doing this I would have left some material, welded it, and then bored it onsize.

I worry if I press in the cups, it'll simply deform the cups. Maybe I'm worrying too much but this seems out of tolerance. While I'm at it, the bottom bracket threads needed some serious help too.

Here's the cup resting in the frame. It'll easily rock back and forth left to right as the cup is being help fore and aft.

IPbMeZ8.jpg

Made some shock spacers

2HKpqnU.jpg

That's unfortunate, I would definitely be following up with the manufacturer for such an obvious QA issue.