Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

General Discussion about electric vehicles.
larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1241
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Nov 01 2019 4:15pm

They will help you if you ask for a preprogrammed controller.
Ride on :D

reinel89   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 01 2019 9:23pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by reinel89 » Nov 01 2019 9:48pm

Amigos tengo algunas dudas sobre este controlador votol ya que no encuentro referencias de el y he visto que aquí son muy conocedores del tema, me gustaría también que me aclaran si con esta interface u232-p9 puedo configurar estos controladores o si solo se puede hacer mediante el pl2303 que me resulta muy difícil adquirir, de antemano gracias

borko444   100 W

100 W
Posts: 166
Joined: Aug 01 2019 2:37pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by borko444 » Nov 02 2019 3:21am

:shock: :?: :?: :?: :?:

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 02 2019 3:37am

larsb wrote:
Nov 01 2019 4:15pm
They will help you if you ask for a preprogrammed controller.
Thanks Lars....

Maybe its Better to take the 100 v version... For future proof.

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1241
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Nov 02 2019 4:05am

96V controller is not a good option since the power output and efficiency is lower than the 72V controller. It would make sense only if you already bought a too slow motor and have a 96V battery.
Ride on :D

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 02 2019 4:00pm

larsb wrote:
Nov 02 2019 4:05am
96V controller is not a good option since the power output and efficiency is lower than the 72V controller. It would make sense only if you already bought a too slow motor and have a 96V battery.
Thanks....

They seems to have two em-150 models. The newest must be the most expensive of the two ?

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1241
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Nov 03 2019 2:36am

Votol has EM150 and em150/2 on their home page. 150/2 has less pins so i guess it doesn’t have the burglar alarm feature and could be cheaper, performance specs is missing for it on the page. Could you post a link to the two controllers you mean?
Ride on :D

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 03 2019 7:29am

larsb wrote:
Nov 03 2019 2:36am
Votol has EM150 and em150/2 on their home page. 150/2 has less pins so i guess it doesn’t have the burglar alarm feature and could be cheaper, performance specs is missing for it on the page. Could you post a link to the two controllers you mean?
Em72150 200usd and em72150s 215usd
http://www.cnqsmotor.com/en/article_rea ... s/837.html

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1241
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Nov 03 2019 8:45am

The em72150S is higher performance, worth paying for. You can see the difference in specs earlier in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=95969&start=75#p1477478

I guess the only difference between them is that em72150s probably has better mosfets (lower resistance and losses).
Ride on :D

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 05 2019 2:12pm

larsb wrote:
Nov 03 2019 8:45am
The em72150S is higher performance, worth paying for. You can see the difference in specs earlier in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=95969&start=75#p1477478

I guess the only difference between them is that em72150s probably has better mosfets (lower resistance and losses).
Thank you so much :bigthumb: :D

Do you have a link for the seriel connector ??
Btw. I use this 5kOhm potentiometer as throttle, does it just work with the voltol esc, og do i need to set up something ? https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3281609 ... b201603_55

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1241
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Nov 05 2019 2:39pm

I had issues with my pot throttle. I would buy a hall throttle instead because the throttle limits could not be set in the program (at least with both my previous Votols, this could be improved now)
Ride on :D

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 05 2019 2:43pm

larsb wrote:
Nov 05 2019 2:39pm
I had issues with my pot throttle. I would buy a hall throttle instead because the throttle limits could not be set in the program (at least with both my previous Votols, this could be improved now)
Danm... any "live view" option in the program, showing the pot moves ? So I can check that throttle_max actually is 100% and min are 0% ?
Why cant i find the seriel adaptor needed, in order to program this controller. I dont want to hack my own...

Btw. In the diagram i see something about "brake" does this controlle have regenerative braking ?? Coming from a Vesc 6, I love this function..... Or is it just a output, for brake light etc. ??

ZERONEST   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 43
Joined: Jul 01 2016 8:34am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by ZERONEST » Nov 05 2019 8:02pm

Hi all, am i safe to run em-100 on 20s lipo? 84v charged 74v nominal?

Or am I better off with 18s?

Will be running this controller with qs 2000w 120 70h

Thanks

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1241
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Nov 06 2019 1:01am

72V controller is safe at 20s

@silvernest: answer to your questions is in the thread already. I sometimes wonder why bother to answer people here since everyone is looking for an easy fix..

There is regen
Buy the cable from QS
There is no throttle readout
Ride on :D

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 06 2019 2:08am

larsb wrote:
Nov 06 2019 1:01am
72V controller is safe at 20s

@silvernest: answer to your questions is in the thread already. I sometimes wonder why i bother to help people here since everyone is looking for an easy fix, not to think for themselves..

There is regen
Buy the cable from QS
There is no throttle readout
Thanks Larsb, you have been a greate help. No read out, thats crazy, then you don't know if you ever give full throttle. The vesc 6 is superior here. Never the less, I think i try this votol for my gokart project.

ZERONEST   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 43
Joined: Jul 01 2016 8:34am

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by ZERONEST » Nov 06 2019 10:58am

larsb wrote:
Nov 06 2019 1:01am
72V controller is safe at 20s
Thank you, I have read through the whole thread but couldn't see if anyone had run this controller at 20s

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 06 2019 11:17am

ZERONEST wrote:
Nov 06 2019 10:58am
larsb wrote:
Nov 06 2019 1:01am
72V controller is safe at 20s
Thank you, I have read through the whole thread but couldn't see if anyone had run this controller at 20s
72v is the nominel voltage of a 20s pack....

wjr   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 27
Joined: Nov 08 2019 4:10pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by wjr » Nov 09 2019 4:09am

larsb wrote:
Jun 28 2019 10:43am
Votol doesn't seem to sell the "S" version anymore, now it's called "EM150-SP" by QS
Goood question.
I just checked my recent shipment.
It's labelled EM150 on the housing.
Should it show the letter "S", if it were a true one?

It was advertised as EM150S here, including the datasheet showing 180A Rated, 220A Boost current:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/33058696041.html

Seller is advertising itself as
"QS Electric Drive Store", and I think there was "SIA" somewhere written on the box.
Sounds authritative, but I can't be sure.

I had tried to email carrie before I placed my order to avoid ali order, but got no response.
Mailed carrie again because there was no documentation included at all when I received shipment.
just got out-of-office - they are at EICMA fair.
I understand that they are quite busy there. :bigthumb:

So china sourcing is still quite some adventure :lol:

@larsb
How did you learn to understand the funny Chinenglish language in the manual?
Or can you read the chines signs beneath?

I can't manage to extract precise information out there.
Well, may be that my english is to bad, of course :confused:

Anyway, thanks for your great support here :thumb:

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 09 2019 5:44am

wjr wrote:
Nov 09 2019 4:09am
larsb wrote:
Jun 28 2019 10:43am
Votol doesn't seem to sell the "S" version anymore, now it's called "EM150-SP" by QS
Goood question.
I just checked my recent shipment.
It's labelled EM150 on the housing.
Should it show the letter "S", if it were a true one?

It was advertised as EM150S here, including the datasheet showing 180A Rated, 220A Boost current:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/33058696041.html

Seller is advertising itself as
"QS Electric Drive Store", and I think there was "SIA" somewhere written on the box.
Sounds authritative, but I can't be sure.

I had tried to email carrie before I placed my order to avoid ali order, but got no response.
Mailed carrie again because there was no documentation included at all when I received shipment.
just got out-of-office - they are at EICMA fair.
I understand that they are quite busy there. :bigthumb:

So china sourcing is still quite some adventure :lol:

@larsb
How did you learn to understand the funny Chinenglish language in the manual?
Or can you read the chines signs beneath?

I can't manage to extract precise information out there.
Well, may be that my english is to bad, of course :confused:

Anyway, thanks for your great support here :thumb:
I just ordered the em150 controller via "QS Electric Drive Store" on aliexpress myself.... Talking to Carrie... She called it "Em150SP" alle the time, and said this was the only model now.... So much confusing :-) Now i'm excited to se what model i´m receiving :-)

wjr   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 27
Joined: Nov 08 2019 4:10pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by wjr » Nov 09 2019 8:24am

Can I safely test run the controller-engine-setup using a Liion Charger?

I have this one:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000121 ... 4c4drD1NZF
72V 20S LiIon 84V, 5 to 25 A adjustable

I expect it not to deliver more than 84V - is this supposed to be safe for the controller?
maybe, there is risk of overvoltage due to ripple and control oscillations?
and I have to trick it not to auto power off as fully charged.
Maybe some resistive dummy load will help soving both problems?

I have so many newbie questions in my mind I do not like to bother you with them.
I'm sure, most of them will go away after successful cabling and some initial toying, making room for more serious questions :wink:

However, to build my pack (current plan is 20S32P of VTC4), I'd like to mount the engine first to make sure that the pack fits into the frame.
So I get somewhat stuck in a chicken&egg-loop.

Another option would be to connect a 48V and a 24V forklift lead acid.
But then I had to test in my cold wet dirty potato storage...

Or can I just build some small LiIon dummy pack?
What's the minimum current requirement?
The VTC4 is rated 30A max. Will 20s2P suffice?

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 09 2019 9:40am

In the Gui you set Up max and minimum voltage. If you exceed These values, the ESC shots down. Fully charged 20s battery is 84v. By memory (check the dokumentation) the ESC shots down at 85v

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1241
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Nov 09 2019 10:08am

@larsb
How did you learn to understand the funny Chinenglish language in the manual?
Or can you read the chines signs beneath?
There has to be some logic behind all the functions, i usually ask myself ”how is the logic probably built” and go from there. Often you can make a simple parameter test to prove the functionality.

Normally you cannot kill the controller by trying parameters, then program isn’t good and controller isn’t good either.
Ride on :D

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 09 2019 11:31am

larsb wrote:
Nov 09 2019 10:08am
@larsb
How did you learn to understand the funny Chinenglish language in the manual?
Or can you read the chines signs beneath?
There has to be some logic behind all the functions, i usually ask myself ”how is the logic probably built” and go from there. Often you can make a simple parameter test to prove the functionality.

Normally you cannot kill the controller by trying parameters, then program isn’t good and controller isn’t good either.
Are you using the default battery max amps ??

Btw. Do you know if its possible to get voltage and speed readings with a display like this ?? I know QS sell some.... But i like this one... https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000112 ... _edm_other

larsb   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1241
Joined: Dec 10 2014 5:12am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by larsb » Nov 09 2019 12:36pm

Yes, i’m at max amps, no problem for my motor.

That display will work, voltage is just to connect but speed depends on how much you can trim the signals to match it to your motor and/or gearing.
Ride on :D

SilverLine   1 W

1 W
Posts: 56
Joined: Oct 09 2017 2:53pm

Re: Votol EM-100 & EM-150 controllers

Post by SilverLine » Nov 09 2019 2:15pm

larsb wrote:
Nov 09 2019 12:36pm
Yes, i’m at max amps, no problem for my motor.

That display will work, voltage is just to connect but speed depends on how much you can trim the signals to match it to your motor and/or gearing.
Yes you are right. I whant a naked PCB, so i can 3d print my own enclosure for my gokart project. I give one of these displays a try.

Post Reply