Lawn Tractor Conversion New new new..."Final Video"

Tommy L

100 kW
My Sears 15hp motor is toast. I could rebuild it, or........make it electric.
There is a package at Electric Motor Sport dot com
for 8hp cont 15peak hp.
Chime in with some input for me!
The video below is a cool electric dragster lawn tractor! :)

Thank you!

Tommy L sends.....[imghttp://www.vtxcafe.com/images/smilies/mosh.gif][/img]
emc_r_02.jpg

[youtube]rrCoGoJtovQ[/youtube]

A lot depends on what you intend to do with it. At normal lawn speeds it takes a surprisingly small power for propulsion, probably less than 1kW. But mowing, the blade(s) can take 15 to 20kW. I have an old Sears lawn tractor I have been running on battery for over 15 years. I have never mowed with it; never had a deck. But I tow a wagon around the yard and sometimes the lawn sweeper. The sweeper is my heavy load and gets me up into the 40A range. Even towing a wagon of firewood is less than 20A. I'm using 45V. Kept the 3 speed axle. On the yard; 2nd only. On the road 3rd gets me about 25mph.

Thank you Major!

Seems that your heaviest load (sweeper) is 1.7kw. I'm thinking if my 15hp sears motor has been doing this dual blade 42" deck, then
15hp = 11.19Kw. I'm sure that the sears 15hp must be a peak rating, so I'm hoping that a 15hp peak electric with 8hp continuous would
work. I just don't want to under power this conversion.

Tommy L sends.....
mosh.gif

with some more digging I found a ME-1004 200amps 400amps 6.4kw continuous and 16kw for 1 minute.
Here's the description: