Batteries and the environment

campbelp

10 µW
I have been riding a Stealth Fighter for over 2 years and have replaced battery packs 2 times and now I have another failed pack, LIFEPO4 pouch type 48 volt 20 amp hour 16S with BMS. I have it apart on my bench next to the last years disassembled failed pack, same technology. It would be an easy task to replace the failed cells and get back on the road, but getting replacement cells is almost impossible. Identifying the part by the number on the batteries leads to only "close" and doing it by size is equally inexact. I don't know if I'm the only one collecting failed packs, forced to buy a complete set at wildly inflated prices, more that 2000 dollars from a Stealth dealer or some unknown price, quality and delivery China source. I suspect others are equally frustrated and ultimately end up discarding failed partial packs. Not how electric transportation was intended to treat the environment. Now it is clear that cells, 18650s or at some point Telsa manufactured cells, are becoming the preferred energy source for packs and everyone will be buying or making spot welders to build packs with batteries that are readily available. What can be done to get electric riders a reasonable power source with minimal impact to both the wallet and environment? Anybody?

What about checking with the (presumably reputable) vendor you bought the batteries from? They should be able to help provide replacement cells, or at least say where they got them so you can check there.