300mm, 25kW, 60+lb-thrust EDF System

Howdy!

Long story short, I'm ankle-deep in designing a gigantic 300mm 25kw-capable electric ducted fan system for human propulsion.

The fan will be ~300mm in diameter, and the power system alone will weigh well over 12lb, so I thought Large EDF Jets might be a good fit. Let me know if it belongs somewhere else.

Background: I'm an electrical engineer working at a Denver turbomachinery company. I'm used to designing >50kw high speed rotating machinery power systems. I've got a history in giant musical tesla coil design, as well as designing wearable tesla coils. I also lead a group at the University of Kansas in building a turboshaft-powered gokart from the ground up. Details at www.feathersengineering.com for anyone curious.

A while back I remember seeing this video:

[youtube]M1dEZrQWeRY[/youtube]

I was inspired, but disappointed to learn about the price and limited performance of the Schubeler EDF units that they used, for the purposes of human propulsion. Following this, I ran a bit of a trade study to see what my ballpark design targets would be for a larger fan:

The primary limiting factor concerning fans approaching this size is clearly power system capacity. 300mm looks like a comfortable top-end for a project using existing power system components. Running ~12krpm, ~25kW peak power, and in the 35 kg-f thrust range. These numbers are probably a bit optimistic, considering I'll be scaling up a smaller design, but they should be ballpark.

TP Power Systems makes the 23kW-peak capable TP100 motor, I'll be specifying a 135kV wind and running 28s (smidge over 100V). The only issue is, it makes this power at about 25,000 RPM, and can't provide the torque I need at 12krpm.
http://www.tppower.com/sort.asp?class_id=4&news=110

Alien Power Systems provides a 500A (overkill) 28s ESC:
http://alienpowersystem.com/shop/esc/alien-500a-28s-sport2-air-72-mosfet-esc-hv/