29er Super Commuter_ Pre-Build general advice

JstSqzd

100 µW
Hello Everyone

So a friend and I are getting ready to pull the trigger on ordering components for a super-commuter build (we are planning to build 2 of them.) I've got some experience building a 4000w electric skateboard from scratch, and I'm ready to take it to the next level with something more practical. Plus we are both Mechanical engineers so we are always designing and improving things. Our commute is 16 miles, very little gradient change (a few short slight hills), and we want to be able to do about 40mph continuous. I'll give everyone a breakdown of what we are thinking and we would appreciate any feedback you guys can offer!

Bike: Felt Nine80 . We have a hookup who is able to get us bikes at a good discount, we want a 29er because it looks better than 26. And is bigger and more unique, Let me know if this is a dumb move. Hard tail so there is room in the triangle for batteries. Probably add a Thudbuster soon though. Mechanical discs should be easier to interface with the controller.

Motor: Here we are pretty set on going with the MXUS 3000w motor. We are looking at the 3T winding at 66v (18s lipo) To push around 55 to 65 amps. We looked at the Leafmotor because it seems to be high efficiency and a little bit lighter, but not sure how far it can be pushed.

Controller: Probably want to go with an 18fet Infineon controller to handle all that juice, but the Grinfineon looks attractive from a user friendliness standpoint (not as much power though.) And don't know much about the lyen controller.