Cal3thousand's Norco VPS Six - HT3525

cal3thousand

10 MW
My bike is currently in pieces for a major upgrade, so I thought I would finally take the time to write something about it and share it.

Current Photo:

Norco%20at%20CVS.jpg

This is my first attempt at a full suspension bike. I've only owned rigid bikes in my lifetime since real mountain bike riding was never my thing. I've lived in the city most of my life and bikes were generally seen as transportation and not so much as sport.

My previous e-bikes were slow machines for commuting. They were good at the beginning when it didn't take much to get the ebike grin going. But eventually, I got tired of riding slowly and getting passed by cars all the time. I also wanted my throttle to act like more than just an on/off switch as John in CR suggests. Watching all of the videos posted from members with fast DH bikes got me wanting one.

I started lurking Craigslist in my surrounding areas looking for a cheap Downhill donor for my project. In a matter of no time, I found a Norco VPS Six that an avid downhill biker was getting rid of for space. For $250 and a 50 mile drive, I got a nearly full bike frame with suspension bits included. It was only missing chain, derailleur, brakes, pedals and handlebars. Of course it was dirty and a little scratched up, but that's perfect for an ebike. It's not as high tech as some other frames nor does it have a large triangle, but the price was right for a frame with fork, shock and crank/BB. That was August of 2012 that I picked up the frame, to give you some reference as to how long I have been taking.