new member and 1st Build

Yeanzo

1 µW
Hey everyone.

I'm new here on the ES forum,

Short summary of me is that i live in Belgium, work as a Technician, i'm 23 years old, and my name is Matthias.

I've been lurking here for a couple of months and now i'm nearing completion on my electric longboard.

the board setup will be:

Deck : Loaded Dervish sama (circles)
Trucks: Paris truck v2 180
Bearings: loaded jehu (will probably change them later on)
Wheels: Orangatang Kegel

The motor mount is made by myself on a milling machine.

wheel pulley : 40teeth 9mm wide
motor pulley :14 teeth

motor : turnigy SK3 aerodrive 260Kv
ESC: VESC
Controller : nameless wireless nunchuck
Battery: 2x3s wired in series 5000Mah

I designed and 3D printed the enclosure myself and it is still a work in progress... but seems to fit nicely.

https://goo.gl/photos/imFHQpoCV3Pjirho6 <- you can see my google album here (if you can't access it please do tell me, then i'll upload them to a normal image hosting site)

i hope you all enjoy my pictures/ buildlog if you have questions/comments, fire away :D

Regards,
Matthias

Matthias - nice clean build! Like your simple single enclosure (3d printed it looks like).

checking my gearing calculator i see your top speed should be about 17mph:
Code:
Diameter		Motor KV		Battery S/V		M pully		Hub pulley

80		260		6		14		40

Speed= KPH	32.9382144							
Speed= MPH	19.84229783							
actual speed	16.66753018

A couple questions and suggestions. Are you planning on increasing voltage (higher 4/5s batteries in series)? Love the 40t wheel gear to keep speeds more reasonable if you do. With 260kv motor you will need to stay below 10s on your VESC. 12s would work if you have <200kv motor. Again, i'm not positive the new hardware Vedder has released (4.10/4.11/etc.) fixes this? Someone clarify if i'm wrong - i haven't checked in a while (i'm still using 4.8 hardware).