Result of charging NiMH in parallel circuits?

Ktraughb

10 mW
I am trying to build a battery pack of Honda IMA sticks. I will be using a total of 16 sticks to make 8 14.4 volt batteries, (2 series per module, then parallel together). My question is, what is the actual result of charging in a mass situation such as this where there are packs connected in parallel? Given, I plan to balance them before connecting. However, I would love to not disconnect my parallel buss bars every time I have to charge. If its a matter of simply reducing cell life, Im not overly concerned with that. I will be using these for burst power only, for about 10 seconds at a time. These arent going in place for an EV motor or bike etc. Ultimately, the current draw will be about 400 amps (15v, 6kw). Likely less real clamped power. Any help is appreciated. I am new to NiMH cells. For what its worth, I have extensive use with Carbon nanotube ultra capacitors, which I have used and charged in series/parallel without ever using a balance circuit, nor a balance charger. Ive destroyed 1 or 2 over the years, but never a reactive issue. And yes, Ive researched this topic extensively. I just havent found any testimony from people who have done it against recommendation to see what the actual results may be. Mind you, I wont have much invested in these used cells anyhow. Just trying to see if I can get them to work for this application. Thanks, Kenneth