Test ride: MAC 10T / 48V setup

footloose

10 kW
This spring I built a second electric bike, designed mostly to deal with the fairly extreme hills where I live.
Design is not cutting edge at all – the bike isn’t powered with recycled phaser cannon batteries or anything like that.
Instead I studied ES until I had a pretty good idea about a couple of tried-and-true build approaches, figured which one would work best for my need, then I used that recipe.
This post is basically a report on real-world testing of the bike, intended to help any other newbies who are interested in that particular setup.

Bike is basically:
- 1980s Trek mountain bike frame, 26” wheels
- MAC 10T motor
- 48v 12.6 Amp hour Samsung NCM battery pack
- 9 FET 3077 controller
- CA V2.5

Bought all but the bike from Cellman (EM3ev).

Bike turned out to be dynamite, copes with hills like a champ, tops out >30mph, hauls reasonable amount of groceries with no sweat.

Until this weekend, I mostly rode it on short trips around home turf.

This weekend I had a chance to do a real test. Thanks to my wife attending a conference at Squaw Valley (in the Sierra Nevada mountains, near Lake Tahoe) I had a free room and a couple of free days to ride. I went along, and brought the bike.

'Test track’ was the mostly flat, nicely paved bike path that runs along the Truckee river and west shore of Tahoe, for about 20 miles.
Beautiful ride, do it if you ever get the chance.
Got lucky and had beautiful weather too.

I divided the test ride into three segments: conservative riding, aggressive riding, and flat out riding.