Lightweighting and aerodynamic optimization of a subcompact car.

neptronix

Administrator
Staff member
Hey all.

You might think it is weird to be talking about a gas car here. But actually there are no active forums for my car because it's a bit rare and has been produced under 4 different names. And i know a lot of you drive gas cars and we're all interested in lowering our footprint or just achieving efficiency or speed for the sake of it.

..and ecomodder is chuck full of ads and annoyances so screw 'em.

This thread is somewhat of a build thread and question/answer to inspire you to do the same, whether you car uses gas or electricity.

My story

I've been hypermiling since 2007.. and have achieved 10-30% boost in fuel economy on nearly everything i've driven, from SUVs to hybrids. I do not do extreme wayne geddes moves like shutting off the engine or do 50 in a 70.. i'm a daily driver hypermiler.. for my wallet and also the planet's health. It's a win win.

My car

2017-toyota-yaris-ia-manual-tested-review-car-and-driver-photo-672938-s-original.jpg

So i've got a Toyota IA from the late 2010's... Toyota's version of the Mazda 2.. The Mazda 2 weighs ~350lbs less in the Japanese/European version, yet has a nearly identical looking chassis and set of features.

Some of the weight difference is due to extensive use of high tensile steel in the original design. I think a lot of the weight difference came from Toyota's mistakes and cost cutting efforts.

You can immediately tell the car's engine is mismatched to it's weight. It lurches into first gear right off the lot. The 1.5L engine has a great torque curve but struggles to move the 2400lbs in low RPM.

I picked the car over a hybrid because i saw 50+mpg in hypermiling it and was incredibly impressed.. in sustained 65mph driving, i can see 58-70mpg highway, but average around 50mpg with a little city, mostly highway driving.