Adding pictures?

Talk about anything and everything here within reason.
mark5   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1459
Joined: Dec 28 2011 9:26pm
Location: USA

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by mark5 » Dec 16 2018 6:50pm

It's a known problem & occurs when initially getting jpeg fileinfo before imagemagick or GD is used.

If you find "checkExifData" in phpBB3/vendor/marc1706/fast-image-size/lib/Type/TypeJpeg.php it's the combination of that, and the quirky file, that causes the problem.

The programmer did fix it.

User avatar
marty   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2488
Joined: Apr 19 2007 5:44pm
Location: Buffalo, New York USA
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by marty » Dec 17 2018 8:20am

Test DSC00754.JPG again. 6.41MB
Error
The file is too big, maximum allowed size is 512 KiB.

Mark5,
Reply to your email. As a test, why don't you actually attach the DSC00754.JPG image I emailed to you.

If you can attach and I can't? Possible reasons are that we are using different machines. I am using home built Windows 7 computer. Mozilla Firefox. When I click on Help / About Mozilla Firefox. See Firefox Quantum 64.0 (64-bit) Firefox is up to date. So guess that I am using the latest version?
MARTY
Volt Electric Vehicles
http://www.voltev.com

mark5   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1459
Joined: Dec 28 2011 9:26pm
Location: USA

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by mark5 » Dec 17 2018 8:55am

Here it is, marty:
(DSC00754.JPG deleted after test so as to not waste space)


Browser shouldn't matter but mine is the same as yours--64-bit Firefox Quantum 64.0--but running on a 10-year old outdated, slow laptop.

User avatar
marty   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2488
Joined: Apr 19 2007 5:44pm
Location: Buffalo, New York USA
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by marty » Dec 17 2018 12:58pm

Works for you but not for me? No idea why?
Attachments
error.jpg
MARTY
Volt Electric Vehicles
http://www.voltev.com

mark5   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1459
Joined: Dec 28 2011 9:26pm
Location: USA

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by mark5 » Dec 17 2018 6:34pm

marty wrote:
Dec 17 2018 12:58pm
Works for you but not for me? No idea why?

ERROR
The file is too big, maximum allowed size is 512 KiB.
I think it might be because I'm a moderator. Looks like the filesize limit doesn't apply to admins & moderators posting. Anyway, that's what's in the code for posting (phpbb 3.2.4: phpBB3/phpbb/attachment/upload.php line 140: "// Admins and mods are allowed to exceed the allowed filesize"...).

Can you try posting another image larger than 512 KiB, around 1 MB, to see if you get the same error msg? And, if that fails, try disabling Javascript in your browser, then try it one more time. Because that thing that does the upload for you, that you have to click on the "!" to see the error msg, is also supposed to have a filesize limit. It's documented to be off by default but I'd like to know where that 512 KiB is coming from.

User avatar
EddySPalm   100 W

100 W
Posts: 111
Joined: Mar 30 2017 6:12am
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by EddySPalm » Dec 21 2018 1:49am

Using Picozu, I finally managed to upload a picture!
Now the search starts for a software that can "bulk resize" images, a feature I have been wanting for so long.

Thank you all for your help!
Attachments
2018-12-10 07.24.04.jpg.jpg
2018-12-10 07.24.04.jpg.jpg (316.13 KiB) Viewed 28465 times

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 31616
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by amberwolf » Dec 21 2018 2:14am

EddySPalm wrote:
Dec 21 2018 1:49am
Now the search starts for a software that can "bulk resize" images, a feature I have been wanting for so long.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=36611&p=531048&hilit=resize#p531048

amberwolf wrote:
Feb 07 2012 5:57pm

Mostly I use AT32Resizer (free)
http://www.at32.com/doc/resizer.htm
http://www.mnetz.fsnet.co.uk/at32/resizer.exe
for batch resizing of JPG files,

Ebuilt   10 W

10 W
Posts: 68
Joined: Jun 19 2018 11:27pm
Location: West coast usa

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by Ebuilt » Feb 03 2019 1:19am

This is how I figured out to post a pic in the for sale section:

1. Made a CL ad with picture in it from my iphone.

2. Saved the picture from the CL ad to my iphone.

3. Uploaded that picture to my for sale ad here on ES.

Somehow for whatever reason, it worked in my head and actually worked here. No need for programs or downloading or any of the hyped up stuff. Anyone can do this.
:bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt: :bolt:

ACDC_comeback   10 µW

10 µW
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 28 2019 2:41am

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by ACDC_comeback » Feb 28 2019 2:44am

hi all, one of the methods that works in adding pics is to upload them at imgur and paste the links here :bigthumb:

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 31616
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by amberwolf » Feb 28 2019 3:13am

Until that site, like Photobucket, trashes the ability to display externally. Or just plain goes down. Or isn't accessible from some part of the world due to server blocks. Or...etc.

If you attach the images directly to the post, then anyone that can see the post can see the images, because they ahve the same source. If they can't see them then, there is something problematic on their actual computer or device preventing it.

Rodney64   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1851
Joined: Mar 30 2012 4:00am
Location: Perth Western Australia

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by Rodney64 » Mar 16 2019 7:50am

In the past I have always uploaded to photobucket.

I opened Attachments
Selected add files
Then selected the photo to upload
under add files the image will be there,
Attachments
IMG_1052.jpg

User avatar
Hugh-Jassman   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 405
Joined: Jun 20 2015 12:57pm

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by Hugh-Jassman » Mar 20 2019 1:16pm

so all I need to do is click "attachments"...add files... then "place inline"
food bank day.JPG
food bank day.JPG (234.92 KiB) Viewed 28058 times

User avatar
kamus   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 11 2019 1:39am
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by kamus » Sep 11 2019 2:06am

Hello moderator, I am new to this forum. I want to add pic to my posting. Let me try it.
Image
No pic is shown
Image
Attachments
wiring controller2.jpg
wiring controller2.jpg (487.1 KiB) Viewed 27140 times
:bigthumb:

User avatar
e-beach   1.21 GW

1.21 GW
Posts: 3779
Joined: Jan 10 2012 9:48pm
Location: Any Los Angeles area beach I am at. Or Santa Monica or possibly the south bay beaches.

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by e-beach » Dec 18 2019 11:25am

kamus wrote:
Sep 11 2019 2:06am
Hello moderator, I am new to this forum. I want to add pic to my posting. Let me try it.
Image
No pic is shown
Image
Start by making sure all your pictures are under 512K so they will post.
Favorite Quotes:
"This is L.A., sugar. There is no 'over the top." Chris Erskine
"At a certain point the entropy wins." Maria Helena Braga

Current Build: ProFlex 757 Expert full suspension. Yescomusa 36v 800w Rear DD, upgraded 10AWG solid core through axle phase wires. 15ah Headway, 1000+ cycles, 80% DOD 30A Tronsung controller.

Past: Trek 4500 Yescomusa 36v 800w front DD.
Liahona, Yescomusa 36v 800w generic front DD.
1992 Trek 800, Yescomusa 800w 36v front DD.

User avatar
EddySPalm   100 W

100 W
Posts: 111
Joined: Mar 30 2017 6:12am
Location: Drammen, Norway

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by EddySPalm » Jul 06 2020 1:25am

Test
2020-06-03 14.39.19.jpg
2020-06-03 14.39.19.jpg (275.01 KiB) Viewed 4271 times

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 31616
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by amberwolf » Nov 19 2020 12:20am

Is it just me, or is adding attachments broken at the moment?

Regardless of image type or size or dimensions, I get this error (when clicking on the yellow warning triangle in the Status column on an attempted attachment upload):

"Error

Could not upload attachment to ./files/13812_3d6b8ecc117cdad361f3974c2157be87."

(where the number in the above is of course different for each one.)

The same occurs whether I create a new post or add to an old one, and regardless of which forum I do it in.


EDIT: Apparently it also occurs with all the other extensions I happened to have at hand, including txt and pdf files.

Balmorhea   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1575
Joined: Oct 01 2019 8:30pm
Location: Austin

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by Balmorhea » Nov 19 2020 12:25am

amberwolf wrote:
Nov 19 2020 12:20am
Is it just me, or is adding attachments broken at the moment?
That’s what I’m getting when I try to attach an image.
___________
Finish Reconstruction.

Hillhater   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 11406
Joined: Aug 03 2010 10:33pm
Location: Sydney ..(Hilly part !) .. Australia/ Down under !

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by Hillhater » Nov 19 2020 4:56am

It seem that the “img” feature still works for me.....using direct file link from Imageshack..
Image
This forum owes its existence to Justin of ebikes.ca

Balmorhea   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1575
Joined: Oct 01 2019 8:30pm
Location: Austin

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by Balmorhea » Nov 19 2020 5:56am

That’s not the problem we’re dealing with.
___________
Finish Reconstruction.

User avatar
neptronix   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 15006
Joined: Jun 15 2010 5:56pm
Location: Utah, USA
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by neptronix » Nov 19 2020 9:47am

Looked into this and fixed it :thumb:
10313370_1447819452122818_857684073738716901_n.jpg
10313370_1447819452122818_857684073738716901_n.jpg (37.22 KiB) Viewed 677 times
"Love and compassion are necessities, not luxuries. Without them, humanity cannot survive." - Dalai Lama

My first major build: 1.6kW 8T MAC motor on a Trek 4500 MTB.
Monster MTB: Leafmotor 1500w @ 4kW on a Turner O2 full suspension.
The monster scooter: Heavy duty Cannondale semi recumbent - under construction.
Blue Dream: Maxaraya FS semi recumbent and high efficiency mid-drive - under construction.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 31616
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by amberwolf » Nov 19 2020 3:56pm

thanks! :)
Attachments
20200630_110303.jpg
20200630_110303.jpg (43.28 KiB) Viewed 645 times

jangles   1 W

1 W
Posts: 62
Joined: Feb 13 2019 10:38am
Location: Tucson, Arizona

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by jangles » Nov 20 2020 9:55am

Old thread but thought I'd give it a try .
Goose.jpg
Goose.jpg (218.92 KiB) Viewed 629 times

User avatar
neptronix   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 15006
Joined: Jun 15 2010 5:56pm
Location: Utah, USA
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by neptronix » Nov 25 2020 10:44am

I have changed a hardcoded limit in phpBB's code to allow for up to 8mb image uploads. That should be big enough to handle anything other than what a $1000+ DSLR spits out by default. And if you have such an expensive camera, you probably know how to resize images.. 8)

Enjoy!
"Love and compassion are necessities, not luxuries. Without them, humanity cannot survive." - Dalai Lama

My first major build: 1.6kW 8T MAC motor on a Trek 4500 MTB.
Monster MTB: Leafmotor 1500w @ 4kW on a Turner O2 full suspension.
The monster scooter: Heavy duty Cannondale semi recumbent - under construction.
Blue Dream: Maxaraya FS semi recumbent and high efficiency mid-drive - under construction.

B1078   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 24 2020 4:57am

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by B1078 » Dec 14 2020 5:52am

neptronix wrote:
Nov 25 2020 10:44am
I have changed a hardcoded limit in phpBB's code to allow for up to 8mb image uploads. That should be big enough to handle anything other than what a $1000+ DSLR spits out by default. And if you have such an expensive camera, you probably know how to resize images.. 8)

Enjoy!
I tried a 3.7MB picture, still tells me there is a 512kb limit.

markz   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 12169
Joined: Jan 09 2014 11:38pm
Location: Alberta Canada

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by markz » Dec 14 2020 6:23am

You need to resize your image, I use irfanview program and been using it for years now. I usually just reduce the size of the picture to 550 width which automatically sets the other height imension and it always falls within the 512kb size limit.

Image - Resize/Resample - Width

I'm sure theres something out there that just automatically saves the picture to your desination and it automatically sets to size and/or kb limit.

B1078 wrote:
Dec 14 2020 5:52am
I tried a 3.7MB picture, still tells me there is a 512kb limit.

Post Reply