Adding pictures?

Talk about anything and everything here within reason.
User avatar
neptronix   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 12730
Joined: Jun 15 2010 5:56pm
Location: California refugee living in Utah, USA
Contact:

Re: whats with iphone and picture posting

Post by neptronix » May 29 2011 6:35pm

There is a jpeg attribute that says 'the image is flipped this way' that the iphone probably inserts into the file.
This is not read by all software, and is quite new.
Not a phpbb problem. It happens with practically all web forums, sites etc. The 'problem' is that they do not look at the jpeg and rotate it before spitting it out to the browser. I don't think browsers have the ability to deal with this either.
Other pieces of software should react the same too.

Conclusion: Apple's iPhone plays by it's own rules. I bet it works great with iPhoto, iTunes, or on an iMac... :lol:
My first major build: 8T MAC motor on a Trek 4500.
The new all-arounder: Leafmotor 1500w on a Turner O2 full suspension.
The wheelie machine: 20" Rear Magic Pie II on a Trek 4300 MTB

"The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now."- Chinese Proverb

User avatar
Arlo1   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 8116
Joined: Apr 26 2009 10:36pm
Location: Nanaimo
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by Arlo1 » Aug 28 2011 9:39am

interesting
My Leaf motor controller build. http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewto ... 27#p963227
My YSR build http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BRo8r5g4NBg
RC and most types of Lithium batteries you MUST know your individual cell voltages charging and discharging.
Don't keep them were you cant afford smoke or fire!
Never above 4.2v never below 2.7v EVER!!!
Support me on Patreon. https://www.patreon.com/user/posts?u=6842045
http://www.undergroundelectrics.ca/

User avatar
waynebergman   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 835
Joined: May 07 2011 4:20pm
Location: Pender Harbour British Columbia Canada

posting pictures

Post by waynebergman » Nov 19 2011 10:17pm

I thought I followed all the prompts etc when uploading some pictures with my last thread I started but my uploads left a link in the post that you have to click to view the pictures instead of showing up with the text and the rest of the post. ..................... Is there a step by step guide for how to post pictures on this forum or am I missing something simple. I was told by a member to paste the link but the instructions I was given did not really help me much...........thanks Wayne

User avatar
TylerDurden   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 7177
Joined: Jan 04 2007 5:50pm
Location: Wear the fox hat.
Contact:

Re: posting pictures

Post by TylerDurden » Nov 19 2011 10:29pm

Have a Nice Day,

TD

Image
___________________________________________________________

FYI: Adding pictures?

Bored?... take a crack at the unanswered posts

Please post your Watts-at-speed in the survey.



Image

User avatar
bigmoose   100 MW

100 MW
Posts: 2642
Joined: Aug 06 2009 3:05pm
Location: North coast USA
Contact:

Re: posting pictures

Post by bigmoose » Nov 19 2011 10:49pm

Wayne, Tyler's advice worked. I edited your pix to be less than 800 pixels wide and placed them inline just like you did with the originals. They were a bit wider than 800 pixels originally. Guess it is a "magic number" we have to remember and keep the pix's width narrower.
"Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly. Leave the rest to God..." all the best, Dave

User avatar
GCinDC   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4244
Joined: Jan 23 2009 11:19am
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by GCinDC » May 30 2012 8:04am

i've found a way that saves me lots of time in adding photos with google plus

prerequisite: google account and smartphone w/ camera

1. install google plus from market place or play store or whatever it is on android now - not sure if google plus runs on iphone..
2. configure google plus to upload photos instantly to private album (or public if you prefer), when on wifi (or whenever)
3. take pictures of your ebike
4. open private album on google + from computer (use a bookmark, but if you've already got it open, it will always refresh)
5. view detail image (double click on it from album), resize browser window so image size is not too big and right click to copy image url (chrome)
googleplus_copyurl.jpg
googleplus_copyurl.jpg (39.77 KiB) Viewed 34256 times
6. in ES posting, click "Img" button and paste the url between the < img > tags
7. preview post to verify images work

notes:
- the photos are clearly not 'private' since the image url is visible to all, but no one can browse to them, and nothing in the url seems to reveal my identity, at least not yet! :lol:
- resizing the browser scales the image according, but also somehow changes the image url, particularly the last 'folder' in the URL path ".../s768/20120529_210441.jpg". i can change the 's768' or whatever it is to s400 to display the image at 400 pixels wide. or to s800 to display it at 800...
Last edited by GCinDC on May 30 2012 9:35am, edited 1 time in total.
Youtube channel, 2013 Highlights vid. Ebike Nerdcast.
Giant DH Comp: 20s lipo (11.6Ah), hs3540, Adaptto Mini-E, 900W BMSBattery charger.
GT I-Drive (sold), 20s lipo, 9C, 72V 45A 12FET.

User avatar
TylerDurden   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 7177
Joined: Jan 04 2007 5:50pm
Location: Wear the fox hat.
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by TylerDurden » May 30 2012 8:19am

GCinDC wrote:... and nothing in the url seems to reveal my identity, at least not yet!
Except your name in the album caption.
Attachments
GCanon.png
GCanon.png (113.24 KiB) Viewed 34259 times
Have a Nice Day,

TD

Image
___________________________________________________________

FYI: Adding pictures?

Bored?... take a crack at the unanswered posts

Please post your Watts-at-speed in the survey.



Image

User avatar
GCinDC   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4244
Joined: Jan 23 2009 11:19am
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by GCinDC » May 30 2012 9:41am

TylerDurden wrote:Except your name in the album caption.
thanks. fixed. i just put the screenshot to show folks the google plus side, where you can edit and share your photos with people in your circles or whomever..

i know a bunch of ES member are sharing albums and creating circles, which is great, but yes, actual names there appear to be obvious. but i still don't understand a lot of the privacy settings.. definitely worth another topic.
Youtube channel, 2013 Highlights vid. Ebike Nerdcast.
Giant DH Comp: 20s lipo (11.6Ah), hs3540, Adaptto Mini-E, 900W BMSBattery charger.
GT I-Drive (sold), 20s lipo, 9C, 72V 45A 12FET.

User avatar
Catalyst82   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 35
Joined: Apr 11 2012 8:37am
Location: kalamazoo, mi
Contact:

How do you post pics?

Post by Catalyst82 » Jan 31 2013 7:10am

How do you get pictures to show up on your post vs. providing just the link to the pics on your post. I have some pictures of a new ebike frame I want to post but don't know how, any help is greatly appreciated!
https://www.catalyst-components.com

"Ebikes so stealth they stand out"

User avatar
Lebowski   1 GW

1 GW
Posts: 3177
Joined: Jun 28 2011 1:38am
Location: beautiful Zurich, Switzerland

Re: How do you post pics?

Post by Lebowski » Jan 31 2013 7:35am

chop 'm down to 800x800 max, upload, click 'place inline'

Linux has a very good program for this, 'simple image reducer'

User avatar
Catalyst82   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 35
Joined: Apr 11 2012 8:37am
Location: kalamazoo, mi
Contact:

Re: How do you post pics?

Post by Catalyst82 » Jan 31 2013 7:48am

Thanks lebowski....sounds simple enough.....now where are those pictures...
https://www.catalyst-components.com

"Ebikes so stealth they stand out"

User avatar
Catalyst82   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 35
Joined: Apr 11 2012 8:37am
Location: kalamazoo, mi
Contact:

Re: How do you post pics?

Post by Catalyst82 » Jan 31 2013 6:12pm

got it, pics posted in ebike photos and videos. thanks again
https://www.catalyst-components.com

"Ebikes so stealth they stand out"

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 25145
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by amberwolf » Feb 10 2013 2:14am

Some info garnered from older posts from unrelated threads, but asking about posting pics:

amberwolf wrote:Even a camera like that can easily take bigger pics. If that is the size it comes out from the camera, you should check it's menu to set it for highest resolution it will do. (yes the pics will be too big to upload, we'll fix that later).

Then see if it has a Macro mode, and turn it on.

Many cameras that have a physical zoom lens can take much better pictures if you stand away from the subject and zoom in on it; especially if it is a smaller item (like a component or PCB area).

If you can't get close enough and can't zoom in without blurriness, take the pic as clearly as you can at the highest res you can.

Get the pics into the computer, and open each one in Paint if you're using Windows.

CTRL-A to select all, then drag the pic toward the upper left corner until only the thing you're trying to show is in the picture at that corner.

Scroll down until you see whitespace, and click there to deselect everything. Now a little black dot will show up at the very edge of the whitespace at the bottom right corner. Grab that, and drag it up and left until it meets the picture.

Continue dragging until it "erases" all of the picture below and to the right of what you are trying to show.

Now you should just have the part of the image you want to upload. File - Save As and give it a useful name.

If what your'e trying to show is really tiny or detailed but needs a big pic to show, you may not be able to upload it to ES in a useful size. If so, go to http://picasa.google.com and sign up, then upload your pics there. You can then link to them here on ES with the IMG tags when posting.

If the pic might be small enough, try uploading it to ES in a post, and if it will not upload then it can be resized down easily enough. You can use Paint which can resize using CTRL-W and a percentage, or you can use a resizer program like AT32resizer, or similar. Only make it just small enough to upload.

If it's as small as the one you have above, it's too small to be useful in troubleshooting, most likely. ;)

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 25145
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by amberwolf » Feb 10 2013 2:14am

amberwolf wrote:
mxmtech wrote:Re: "Then I copy the URL for the image itself, " how do you copy a URL? I don't know what a URL is (or tags)
Ah, sorry. A URL is the link to something on the web, like http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums/se ... ?do=getnew is the link to see all the new posts on DIY Electric Car forums, and http://www.endless-sphere.com/forums/do ... p?id=30978 is the link or URL to the image you posted above.

If you right click on almost any image on the web, your browser should have in the little menu that pops up the option to "Copy Image Location" or "Copy Link Location", "Copy URL", "Copy Target Location", or something similar. Firefox uses the first of those to put the URL of the image in the clipboard, so you can paste it into a post on a forum or an email or wherever you want to.

As for tags, they are just the things forums and browsers use to know how to manipulate the text you type in (or paste in) to display it correctly.

In most forums, ES and DIYEC included, the message editor has buttons just above where you type your message to do various things, and they are done internally by putting tags at the start and end of whatever you are changing.

This includes Quote, so that others can easily distinguish someone else's words from your own, when you quote others, since just using " " marks can get kind of lost in long messages (especially mine). That's what I used at the top of this post to quote you, by copying and pasting that part of your post into mine, then selecting the text and clicking the Quote button.

Image tags are similar, so that if you have an image you either can't upload or don't want to, you can link to wherever it is on the web instead, and have it still display as an image.

Actually uploading the images using my blog is easy; same thing using Picasa's website itself. I don't use the Picasa program, as it has behaviors I don't like that I can't turn off.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 25145
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by amberwolf » Feb 10 2013 2:15am

amberwolf wrote:
Paul.............D wrote:HOW DO YOU GET TO DISLAY THE PICTURES ON THE PAGE ?????
Since you're using Picasa:
--Open your posting window here at ES
--Open a new window (or tab) and go to your actual Picasaweb page showing just the picture you want (not the thumbnails page).
--Right click on the picture
--choose "copy image link" or "copy image URL", or "copy image location" whatever shows there in your browser's context menu for "image".
--switch to your posting window here
--click "Img" in the buttons above the posting text window
--click right between the {img}{/img} tag brackets
--paste the link (it should then look like {img}http://picasaweb.google.com/imagelinkbl ... r.jpg{/img} )

Repeat for every image you want to post.

It helps a lot to make sure the images are smaller than 640x480.

User avatar
TylerDurden   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 7177
Joined: Jan 04 2007 5:50pm
Location: Wear the fox hat.
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by TylerDurden » Feb 15 2013 10:48pm

One thing to mention regarding Picasaweb:

The picasaweb album where pictures reside must have security set to "anyone with the link" or "public".

If it is a private album, only the owner can see the images.
Have a Nice Day,

TD

Image
___________________________________________________________

FYI: Adding pictures?

Bored?... take a crack at the unanswered posts

Please post your Watts-at-speed in the survey.



Image

Eskimo   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 503
Joined: Feb 25 2013 9:16am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by Eskimo » Mar 14 2013 10:47am

I just gave up trying. I"m middle-aged and computers are not my game really. My browse-button does not work. Been posting thousands of pictures on countless sites, but i can not learn this system, somebody would had to teach me hand-in-hand before i would possibly understand. On other sites you just hit "browse", choose your image there, and then add it. You may have to resize, but that"s normal. On this forum i have no clue how to do it. I even have a PB-account, but can not copy a link from there. PB says "copied", but it does not work. There"s no link in the memory.
I do not understand why it has to work this way on this forum, this forum is great otherwise. To RC Groups example it is very easy to post images, done that a lot.
Member of a 10 000 mile club
http://helsinkiheroes.com/

User avatar
NeilP   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4955
Joined: Nov 27 2010 3:18pm
Location: 49.17303, -2.05354 Jersey, Europe
Contact:

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by NeilP » Mar 14 2013 11:22am

No idea why the Browse button does not work..I have done it on Mac, Windows and Ubuntu machines and it always works fine. Sounds more liek a browser compatibility issue. have you tried with different web browsers..Firefox, Chrome, Opera?
:) Only Irish coffee provides in a glass all four essential food groups: alcohol, caffeine, sugar, and fat :)

User avatar
Lessss   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2301
Joined: Nov 18 2006 11:27pm
Location: Saint John N.B. Canada, Sol 3

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by Lessss » Mar 15 2013 6:04am

Sounds like a virus.
Download and burn (or have someone else do it, or send away for one) a copy of linux (ubuntu/linux mint etc) and boot the computer from the cd and see if it works in that. If it does and doesn't under your regular OS your os is infected.
Give me nuclear batteries I say!! Ripped off by Joshua Goldberg to the tune of almost $900 re headway groupbuy for batteries, no $ no batteries
------------
http://www.openoffice.org/ or https://www.libreoffice.org/
http://distrowatch.com/dwres.php?resource=major

pacamu   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 32
Joined: Jan 13 2013 8:23pm
Location: melbourne ne suburbs australia

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by pacamu » Apr 30 2013 5:27am

i get this
20130430_173539_5.jpg(121.15 KiB) Not downloaded yet
need some help posting pics grrrrrrrrrrrr

thanks GCinDC
get when place in line trying to add pics to message
example
20130430_173539_5.jpg
20130430_173539_5.jpg (121.15 KiB) Viewed 6212 times
Last edited by pacamu on Apr 30 2013 3:10pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
GCinDC   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4244
Joined: Jan 23 2009 11:19am
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by GCinDC » Apr 30 2013 7:44am

pacamu wrote:i get this
20130430_173539_5.jpg(121.15 KiB) Not downloaded yet
need some help posting pics grrrrrrrrrrrr
if you can be more explicit, someone might be able to help you... when do you get the message? you hooking a camera to a computer? using android phone and google+? whatever you're doing may seem obvious to you, but w/o describing it, no one knows what you're doing...
Youtube channel, 2013 Highlights vid. Ebike Nerdcast.
Giant DH Comp: 20s lipo (11.6Ah), hs3540, Adaptto Mini-E, 900W BMSBattery charger.
GT I-Drive (sold), 20s lipo, 9C, 72V 45A 12FET.

johnnyfoos   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 11
Joined: May 03 2013 9:52am
Location: South East IDAHO USA

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by johnnyfoos » May 06 2013 1:46pm

Well,
I just looked thru 4 pages of posts about
"Adding pictures?"

NOT even once did I see anything about-
THE size limit for the pictures
size as in- mb's
Yes I did see the 800 wide many times

I just try a question I have post and see if I can
get er done or not ?

Geeez---!

thanks

User avatar
GCinDC   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4244
Joined: Jan 23 2009 11:19am
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by GCinDC » May 06 2013 2:50pm

johnnyfoos wrote:Yes I did see the 800 wide many times
as you see, you can upload attachments that are larger, but they won't display when you "place inline".

but now that they are uploaded, you can click the "Img" button, and paste the image URL inside so that it looks like this:

Code: Select all

[img]http://endless-sphere.com/forums/download/file.php?id=108852[/img]
and then the image, no matter how big will display:
Image
bear in mind that most folks won't be able to see the right side when it gets over 900px wide...
Youtube channel, 2013 Highlights vid. Ebike Nerdcast.
Giant DH Comp: 20s lipo (11.6Ah), hs3540, Adaptto Mini-E, 900W BMSBattery charger.
GT I-Drive (sold), 20s lipo, 9C, 72V 45A 12FET.

pacamu   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 32
Joined: Jan 13 2013 8:23pm
Location: melbourne ne suburbs australia

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by pacamu » May 06 2013 3:53pm

GCinDC wrote:
johnnyfoos wrote:Yes I did see the 800 wide many times
as you see, you can upload attachments that are larger, but they won't display when you "place inline".

but now that they are uploaded, you can click the "Img" button, and paste the image URL inside so that it looks like this:

Code: Select all

[im g]http://endless-sphere.com/forums/download/file.php?id=108852[/img]
and then the image, no matter how big will display:
[im g]http://endless-sphere.com/forums/downlo ... ?id=108852[/img]
bear in mind that most folks won't be able to see the right side when it gets over 900px wide...
ok thanks for that did notice the pic cuts off the right side
and using the img code to paste

User avatar
madmaxNZ   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 34
Joined: Mar 24 2013 11:38pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Adding pictures?

Post by madmaxNZ » May 18 2013 7:49pm

Hi,

How do I add a Youtube clip with the screenshot of the video instead of just the link. I've been playing around with the buttons, but so far I've only managed to paste in the link, which can be missed.

Max
"The Rib Breaker": Giant DH Comp, Crystalyte H4080 & 50A controller, 24s LiPo 15AH.

Post Reply