4 projects, just about to drop dime on first motor.

DukeMoto

100 mW
Hello, My first post.
I've been studying everything electric bike for a couple months now. I've picked up 4 bikes while studying, and am going to order the first motor tonight.

- First project bike is a new Schwinn Wayfarer. Picked it up at 1/2 price from a guy that didn't seem to be able to figure out the tire pump to finish assembly haha. <NO, I'm not kidding.
For this project, I'll be using a Ebikeling http://ebikeling.com/#/kits/19 500w geared rear hub motor kit with LED Control Panel/Display Meter-880. I'm wondering if anyone has taken one of these controllers apart? I would like to mount the LED lights, and control buttons to a custom made leather bag. The 880 looks like something you would see on a little kids toy bike, and for the project, the idea is to keep it so someone would have a hard time figuring out it's electric.

After the pain in the XXX to get it home, (thought it was assembled) I figured it was a clunker, and let it sit in the garage for a few weeks without even looking at it. Since then I finished assembly, and have been enjoying riding it. Not a classic made in Chicago Schwinn, but I like it.

I'll be hand stitching custom saddle bags to hang off the rack to keep the battery and electronics. Along with the motor tonight, I'll also be ordering some leather working tools. "Necessity is the mother of a new tool collection." I'll also be stitching up a long narrow and short bag to go under the backbone between the seat post and neck. This is where I hope to be able to put the 880 controller and inset the LED lights, on/off, and mode buttons into the leather. I realize I will probably need to get new switches and LED lights for this, I'm just wondering if I can pop apart the controller and solder on longer leads to do this? This bag will also hide a bike pump, tire repair kit and spare tube.