Do I understand well?

chrik

1 µW
Hello everyone, two weeks ago, I had a crazy idea to build a propulsion system for my kayak using a custom made electric waterjet system. I'm a mechanical engineer so I started from the base for everything related to the electricity. In fact, a week ago, I didn't knew that it's was possible to build a battery pack from 18650 cells.

I therefore read a lot on the subject and I just wanted to use your knowledge to be sure I understood everything right. Here's my plan for the electric system:

Motor: 130KV, 7000W, 200A Max Amp, 18S max volt (64.8V)
http://alienpowersystem.com/shop/brushless-motors/c80100-sensored-outrunner-brushless-motor-130kv-7000w/

Custom Battery Pack: 308 cells 18650, 10A 2.6Ah, 14S22P for a total of 58.8V and 57.2Ah
If I understood the math, 10A/2.6Ah = 3.84C and 57.2Ah x 3.84C = 220A so I should be good if Amp battery > Amp Max Motor

ESC: Anything above 220A, like 250A or 300A.

Did I said any stupidity?

Thanks for your help!

knowing how fast a fairly fit human can paddle one and your thinking of having something like 20-30X that power ... would be fun but i can see things going bad

Okay, first of all you're asking how you're expected to take that information. So you should view it as "Optimism." Not so much about getting that much performance out of it for a moment as sustaining it. You can't. 64.8 X 130 equals the rpm you can get this up to when it's just running without a load, for as long as it takes to go ahead and burn up. A propeller in the water will be under a much greater strain than a propeller in midair, right? You would need the big controller, yes, people have a way of blowing those out with such motors. One of the longest, strangest threads here was discussing one of their controllers to use on a motor like that.

As to his point about something going wrong: You don't really want a 1hp motor on a kayak, do you? Why consider 9hp?