Is this amp meter for DC?

Talk about anything and everything here within reason.
Post Reply
User avatar
rg12   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1014
Joined: Jul 26 2014 4:22pm

Is this amp meter for DC?

Post by rg12 » Oct 07 2018 4:48am

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DC-Combo-Meter ... Sw-CpX-mN4

It has that clamp that goes over the wire which is usually AC, can that also be for DC?
Some other weird thing, it says self powered 12-120V DC or 7-32V DC
Why not just say 7-120V DC? what do they mean there?
24S 17.5Ah 25R, Greentime Controller, QS203 5KW

User avatar
eee291   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 943
Joined: Nov 05 2015 4:35pm
Location: Austria, Burgenland

Re: Is this amp meter for DC?

Post by eee291 » Oct 07 2018 5:09am

It can measure and power itself from 7-32V. If you want to measure anything from 32-120V the thing needs to be powered separately. power supply to the device needs to be somewhere from 7V to 32V. That's my guess at least

User avatar
rg12   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1014
Joined: Jul 26 2014 4:22pm

Re: Is this amp meter for DC?

Post by rg12 » Oct 07 2018 7:55am

Oh ok then, but what about the dc/ac? can it measure dc with a clamp meter? it says up to 500A so I'm guessing it's ac?
24S 17.5Ah 25R, Greentime Controller, QS203 5KW

torker   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1541
Joined: Oct 16 2008 8:46pm
Location: Udall, Ks.

Re: Is this amp meter for DC?

Post by torker » Oct 07 2018 8:23am

Yes. Pretty sure it has to be true rms meter . I use Southwire meters. The true sine d.c. meter I have only reads to 40 amps .

Although that does run the wire through a "clamp". Can you message the seller?
Looks like has it for 35.00 looking at other products he sells.
Dave When I die I want to slide in sideways yelling WooHoo what a ride !

Giant Rincon w rear 9C 6*10 10s Lipo 30+ amps
Specialized FSR Comp 9C 6*10 15s x 50A 3300 W :)
http://s18.photobucket.com/user/rolinfu ... t=3&page=1

User avatar
rg12   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1014
Joined: Jul 26 2014 4:22pm

Re: Is this amp meter for DC?

Post by rg12 » Oct 07 2018 9:04am

Will check thanks alot :)
24S 17.5Ah 25R, Greentime Controller, QS203 5KW

dustNbone   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 861
Joined: Mar 13 2016 9:59pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Is this amp meter for DC?

Post by dustNbone » Oct 07 2018 5:34pm

I'd assume it measures DC Amps, as it's sold as a battery monitor. There appears to be 2 voltage ranges, 7-32V or 12-120V, maybe there are 2 different models of the meter and you need to specify on ordering, or 2 input terminals you can connect to depending on application.

AFAIK DC "Clamp" meters use a hall effect sensor to measure current, I have a Fluke one that does this and it seems pretty accurate, but probably not as much so as a proper shunt.

Post Reply