Auto Ranging DMM

markz

100 TW
What are your guys' & gals' thoughts on using or preferring to use an Auto Ranging vs Manual Dial ?

My old dmm broke (input bullet connector switch. Momentary sw held down by plug) capable of 20A meas.
I then purchased an auto ranging on sale $25 (at CT) and planned to fix the old dmm, with 10A meas.
Then I said F-it and bought 2 more dmm's that are manual and were on sale for $15 (at CT), with 10A meas.

All Mastercrap
All from Crappy Tire

Every few years they change the dmm around, keeping the same product # this version went from 20A to 10A.

I've been using autoranging DMM's for 15 years at least. I forgot about manual ranging. I had one of those for many years...finally gave it to a friend that needed a DMM.

Go with anything name brand and it will serve you well...
Fluke
Klein
Reed
etc

What I like about my Fluke (77-IIIa) is that its' autoranging, but has a Range button to let me manually set it to a specific range.

That's useful when I want to make quick measurements, like a battery balance check, or checking a bunch of voltages, or resistances, that are all within a small range. If I use autoranging, it takes time to settle to the range every time I move the probes, but it just gives me a reading if I use manual range. Much faster if I already know what to expect.

And obvious if the measurement is out of that range--too big and it gives the out of range display, and too small and its' obvious cuz of the zeros or blank spaces.

But I also like my old clunkers like this Simpson, especially for certain types of measurments (like things that may have a time-domain component, since you can see the needle move, where a digital display takes too long to change or settle to be useful, and an oscilloscope is overkill).
https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=49550&p=1245554&hilit=analog+meter#p1245554

Pic shows the Simpson next to the Fluke.
file.php