Seeking advice on a no weld motorcycle/scooter.

Ape_R

1 µW
To sum it up I am in need of either a bike which can preferably reach 60mph top speed (I don't plan on riding that fast most of the time) and has 150 miles of range. Currently there is nothing, of which I am aware, with that sort of range. My biggest concern is that I dont know how to weld, i have no welding experience, and i have no friends or family that weld. Would it be possible to convert a motorcycle with a shot engine without welding? If so are there any guides or tips anyone has to offer? Where should I start? Also I have access to many other tools and I know how to use some of them.

Bicycles frames and bicycle components are not designed to withstand the types of speed and battery weight you want. If you want those kinds of speed and range, go either with an electric motorcycle, maybe an electric moped, or maybe a small gas powered motorcycle.

As for welding, you could purchase an inexpensive welder and learn how to weld.

:D :bolt:

Yeah I'm definitely aiming to take a used motorcycle and convert it. Going that fast on a bicycle is a good way to get yourself killed. I'll look into cheap welders. I assumed they were too expensive to just use for one project.

Depending on where you live..

https://www.harborfreight.com/welding/welders.html

:D :bolt:

Get a true MIG welder with a gas bottle and not the kind with flux core wire. You'll spend a little more up front but you'll be glad you did.

IMG_20220218_172837 (Medium).jpg

yeah get gas. i started off w/ fluxcore and it was just a waste of time. just had this small 15lb co2 tank refilled last week for Php300 or US$5 :shock: lasted more than a year w/ the kind of hobby-type welding that i do

the welder is the cheapest one i could get php8000 or US$145

then get 0.6mm or 0.023" MIG wire

Ape_R said: