Yamasaki YM50-RE Build

swiftyds

100 W
I’ve been playing about with electric bike conversions for a couple of years now, and progressed along the way, like I’m sure many on here, from standard pedal bike conversion, Enduro frame build to finally a full motorbike conversion.

My goal wasn’t to create some superbike EV equivalent, rather a lightweight moped/125cc equivalent suitable for commuting, max speed around 50-55 mph and a range of circa 30-35 miles. As it’s not something for the track, I wasn’t too concerned about unsprung weight issues of using a hub motor.

Those reading this may well remember back in 2019 this build started with an Aprilia RS50 as the donor bike. You can see where that ended up on my original thread (https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=99736), but suffice to say that there were too many issues with the limited width of the swingarm and further mods required to it would have led to issues registering the conversion with the UK DVLA authority.

As there’s still some interest in the build from folks here on the forum here is a new thread documenting it from the beginning, this time using a new donor bike, a Yamasaki YM50-RE.

CA9692-EE-1-EB5-4-AF4-A1-C7-14-C0-A98212-D5.jpg

This is a Chinese Yamaha R3 clone imported to the UK, using a pretty generic frame and 50cc pitbike engine. It’s very similar to the base bike from companies like Hanbird selling Chinese Electric Motorcycles with hub motors from QSMotor of various ratings. I had originally looked at importing one of these to the UK but when I went into it, and the challenges of getting it through an MSVA test to be roadworthy, the cost and effort wasn’t worth it.