Balancing 300 18650 Batteries :/

Hey Guys,

i am fairly new to the whole spiel and I got (via a friend) 300 18650 Cells, all around 1600-1750 mAh.

Now, before building a battery-pack i think it would be best to balance the cells.
Does anybody has a viable idea to balance these cells without putting all of them into a charger for ever ?

Best

SackofFluor!

Step 1. You would have to check for voltage and sort by voltage 3.35v or 4.1v or 3.0v you can write on the the cells with a pen. But at 300 you would need different boxes. remember those cells have a lot of stored energy. Those below 2.5 v or better 2.8v after that recycle the cells.

Yes sorting to create even cell-groups should be based on capacity not voltage

faster self-discharge a strong negative

ideally also resistance

well I R is also good in indicator but how many hours do you want him to spend on 1,500 mah cells
Yes voltage capacity and internal resistance
how big of a battery are you thinking of building and what's it for ?

Thank you for your replies so far....

So i got them from a company that couldnt/didnt sell them. they are all individually measured and range from 1600-1799mAH
So they are kinda a sorted.

The idea with the tinfoil is brilliant! i do assume that you do the same at the other side as well :D

In general, this should be my first start for a larger powerwall that I want to charge over comparable long times using solar, so I can use the stored energy on days where i have a high load because of my beer brewing.

So far I was aiming for a 7s 40p setup, but I think that would not be enough, since the batteries would then be discharged with 2A and i think that is a little bit too much.

therefore i think i will end up with something like 7s 100p or maybe even 140p.

In general, it's my first venture in this topic, so if there are problems or some cells die... well it is what it is...

SackofFluor said: