foundingpower programmable bms

Batteries, Chargers, and Battery Management Systems.
Post Reply
nechaus   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1875
Joined: Oct 11 2011 7:41pm
Location: Brisbane > AUSTRALIA

foundingpower programmable bms

Post by nechaus » Jun 13 2012 8:31pm

http://www.foundingpower.com/en/Product ... 42559.html

0 - 5 volt per sell, you set hvc and lvc via software.

they have a few versions, one is 1 to 12 cell and the other one made for an ebike can be 1 to 24 cell
Nice lcd display.
im ordering a sample, will let you know the price soon when i get it

nechaus   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1875
Joined: Oct 11 2011 7:41pm
Location: Brisbane > AUSTRALIA

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by nechaus » Jun 13 2012 10:20pm

going to cost about $250 usd + shipping for a 18 mosfet 4 - 24 cell 0 - 5 volt programmable hvc and lvc ( with lcd)
good for 120 amps continuous 24/7 80ma cell balancing.

lots of features and functions alot more than my kelly controller.
Im getting 3 of them for each one of my ebikes.
Coupled with a cycle analyst, easy to remove battery packs.
I have finally a good charging solution for myself for Hobby king batteries

IV been using balance chargers for 2 long now. x 2 400 watt 6 s charger and 1kw icharger
I have bulk chargers as well with battery medics that work well to but i always have to manually balance it when i charge.
The BMS can take a 30 amp charge also, not really good for regen brakes but you can wire in a relay perhaps ? but still good for like a 2kw regen, so if your controller can be configured to that.
This bms just does it when it needs to balance and i can set hvc to like 4.18.. i can keep my bike plugged in all the time now

So hopefully the units work as they should
Last edited by nechaus on Jun 13 2012 10:29pm, edited 1 time in total.

nechaus   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1875
Joined: Oct 11 2011 7:41pm
Location: Brisbane > AUSTRALIA

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by nechaus » Jun 13 2012 10:27pm

some pics
Attachments
bms.jpg
bms.jpg (187.01 KiB) Viewed 1955 times
lcd.jpg
lcd.jpg (123.9 KiB) Viewed 12596 times
software 1.jpg
software 1.jpg (130.37 KiB) Viewed 12596 times
software.jpg
software.jpg (132.93 KiB) Viewed 12596 times

electraflyit   10 W

10 W
Posts: 78
Joined: Jul 08 2008 12:19am
Location: Toowoomba, Queensland

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by electraflyit » Jun 16 2012 4:02am

Hi,

I looked into these a few weeks ago.
Sent a few emails and got a response.
I was just a liitle cautious and have done nothing yet. Really I was waiting for a some feedback from someone using one.
Looks like you could be the man.
Looking foward to hearing how they go.

Eddie

cwah   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4214
Joined: Jul 24 2011 5:42am
Location: Between paris and london

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by cwah » Jun 16 2012 4:30am

Same, subscribed :)
Help me find my stolen electric brompton: http://bit.ly/1a0vbBC and Bosch Sinus B3 http://bit.ly/1eV0WQz

User avatar
circuit   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1315
Joined: Mar 19 2009 11:43am
Location: EU
Contact:

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by circuit » Jun 16 2012 10:20am

Built on the same chips I used in my scooter project twoo years ago. Chips work very well.
Dont really like their overall product though.
smart and Tiny BMS solution
Visit my blog. Personal projects: Clean Peugeot conversion | Ultralight enduro
Any and all information, such as texts, specifications, drawings or other material that I post are to be used only as a reference for personal, non-commercial projects ONLY. Any republication for personal or commercial needs must be agreed on individually. Use of any information, that I post, for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

deVries   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1545
Joined: Jul 10 2008 11:29pm
Location: Solar Powered 3000w Texas

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by deVries » Jun 16 2012 2:39pm

circuit wrote:Built on the same chips I used in my scooter project twoo years ago. Chips work very well.
Dont really like their overall product though.
What BMS would you recommend? Do you know of something better? ;)

IBScootn   100 W

100 W
Posts: 212
Joined: Jan 30 2012 11:47pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by IBScootn » Jun 16 2012 8:19pm

Subscribed
Motorcycles:
ZEV T7100, 84V, 60AH, 65+mph; Mods: TNC throttle, windshield, Cycle Analyst , Cell Log , and custom charger
Kymco GT300i - for long rides through the Rocky Mountains
Big EV Grin. :)

User avatar
Bazaki   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 637
Joined: Dec 25 2009 6:29pm

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by Bazaki » Jun 17 2012 3:02am

Looks great to me,
Where did you find that it can handle 120A ?

User avatar
Jay64   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1640
Joined: Nov 16 2007 9:03pm
Location: St. Petersburg, Florida
Contact:

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by Jay64 » Jun 21 2012 11:26am

Have you already ordered these? Looking forward to hearing about them.
Johnson64.Com "The stone age didn't end because we ran out of stones."
EV Bikes:
'13 Zero S 11.4kwh.
GS500, ME0913, Sevcon Size 6 Controller, 90v40ah Lipo, GSXR suspension..
'87 Hurricane 600, ME0709, 48v/50a SLA, Kelly KD72400, Magura Throttle, High Current Cycle Analyst.
http://www.evalbum.com/2275
Raleigh beach cruiser: 9C rear hub, stock controller, 48v10ah lithium, Cycle Analyst.
Phat Chopper: 9C front hub, stock controller, 48v12ah a123s, Cycle Analyst.

Linukas   10 W

10 W
Posts: 94
Joined: Aug 09 2010 5:02am
Location: Lithuania, Kaunas
Contact:

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by Linukas » Jun 22 2012 1:57am

Hi,
I use their BMS for some time, they are not perfect, some protection (BMS unit system protection) are missing, but they work.
I tried to overcurrent their 30a version and with proper cooling it handle 60A continuous and 80A peak.
if someone wants their bms in Europe, I can sell them, I have regular shipment from China (also from foundingpower)

--
Linas
--
Linas
EV parts and service:
http://www.4motus.com
Product and Design:
http://www.neematic.com

nechaus   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1875
Joined: Oct 11 2011 7:41pm
Location: Brisbane > AUSTRALIA

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by nechaus » Jun 22 2012 7:50pm

it's another 3 week wait on these bms's


They have alot of pro's

But the con's to me are

- 100 amp /120 amp limit..
-100 ma balancing,, but you do balance 24/7 as the bms is left on 24/7 which is good .( my cells will be perfectly balanced prior to putting it together should be no problems here)

But all the same, ill be happy with these units, i think i might use a relay to get around the 100 amp limit when i need it

nechaus   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1875
Joined: Oct 11 2011 7:41pm
Location: Brisbane > AUSTRALIA

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by nechaus » Jun 22 2012 7:52pm

Bazaki wrote:Looks great to me,
Where did you find that it can handle 120A ?

it might be only 100 amps as i can only find 100 amps on documents.. Maybe peak current ? as the continuous current is meant to be 100 amps

The guy im speaking to told me it was 120 amp, that's why iv been saying it..
Once i get them, ill do a whole video on assembly and review so you guys can see if its worthwhile for your purposes , and i can find out proper specs and details...

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 106
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Jul 05 2012 6:20pm

Hi,

I've just received one BMS from Linukas, I have a lot of other things to do before so I will test it in about 2 weeks.

I will post some details here and I hope I will be able to reverse-engineering the serial connexion in order to plug a serial to bluetooth module and do datalogging on an Android phone.
Or maybe someone has the serial protocol information ?

cassschr1   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 510
Joined: Aug 14 2009 11:57am
Location: LaCrosse, Wisconsin

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by cassschr1 » Jul 05 2012 11:27pm

bump hoping for some input from the gurus

User avatar
MrKang   100 W

100 W
Posts: 297
Joined: May 01 2009 12:52am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by MrKang » Jul 10 2012 1:40pm

Anybody has one working and some pictures?
Thinking of ordering one but want to make sure it's not a waste of money
MrKang E-Scooter : 24V 750W Bosch Motor modified with YK-43 48V 1kW on 12S6P Lipo - top speed 44kmph
Xinling XTD800A : LYEN 4110 72V (modified for safe 100.8V with extra cooling) - 24S4P/100.8V 25Ah Turnigy + CA with Datalogger + SOUNDSYSTEM + USB power outlet + 78km top speed(120%)
MrKang Retro II : in progress.. ** 12FET MKII LYEN + 28S 20AH LifePO4 cells **
Project link [/color]: http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewto ... 10&t=13442

nechaus   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1875
Joined: Oct 11 2011 7:41pm
Location: Brisbane > AUSTRALIA

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by nechaus » Jul 11 2012 1:05am

I will get them as soon as they are made and post a full review!

auraslip   1.21 GW

1.21 GW
Posts: 3535
Joined: Mar 05 2010 5:19pm

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by auraslip » Aug 30 2012 7:03pm

Any word if they sell low power units I can use just for balancing and disabling my controller?

I think it's dreadfully complicated to pass current through a bms. I'd rather just have it balance the pack, and disable the throttle or ignition wire on the controller during an LVC condition.
THANKS TO EVERYONE HERE WHO TAUGHT ME ABOUT EBIKES. I'M IN YOUR DEBT.

I sell Ebike Brake levers and throttles with custom connectors crimped on! $10 shipped!

ES facebook group

r/ebikes ebikes on reddit

User avatar
agniusm   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2406
Joined: Apr 16 2011 3:06pm
Location: Lithuania, Zarasai
Contact:

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by agniusm » Aug 31 2012 1:19am

auraslip wrote:Any word if they sell low power units I can use just for balancing and disabling my controller?

I think it's dreadfully complicated to pass current through a bms. I'd rather just have it balance the pack, and disable the throttle or ignition wire on the controller during an LVC condition.
Agreed.
I have this BMS in 24S 50A version. I am missing couple of A123 to finish my pack but was eager to test it out. On PC software LVC, HVC and other parameters programmed OK. Some cell voltages were nonsense and i guess it is because incomplete battery pack. to be precise, 18S i had wired in and 17th and 18th cells were showing 1.7V and 0.48V accordingly when really they were at 3.32V. Wiring of this BMS is totally different from other ones i have tried. I like it thou cause it has LCD and programming abilities. Came with anderson connector and double 10 gauge wire on output, input. It didn't had black heat sink just bear board. will attach it to my cargo bikes aluminum bottom.

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 106
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Sep 15 2012 5:14am

Hi,
I have just started to test this BMS, on a bench with 24 resistors to do as if I had a battery on it.
I took the heat sink (mainly for the look !) and will place a plastic plate in front on to protect it in my scooter.

I sniffed the serial communications (was a little hard to setup the PC) when the software reads the BMS parameters and the communication is very easy to be able to perform datalogging.
I just have a few bytes to decode linked to the current value and battery state, I will post all the infos here.

I will make a few modifications on it:
- Solder wires directly on the Allegro current sensor and remove the anderson-like connectors because they are only rated for 45A and I need 100A
- do not use the discharge power fets but command a relay which turns on/off the controller.
- put a bluetooth module to monitor the cells with an Android phone.

The only thing I have to check is if the integrated power supply can provide the additional 30mA consumption.

For the moment I just played a little bit with it and it looks as good as I thought, but there is something I would like to know:
Is there a way to turn off the screen ? The AutoPowerOff parameter does not seems to work.

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 106
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Sep 18 2012 4:15pm

Here is the modified BMS, I added a reed relay which consumes only 10mA at 5v.

I measured the current consumption, t's not so bad for this basic design.
- BMS without screen: 8mA
- BMS with screen: 9.1mA
- BMS with screen and relay: 10.4mA
Attachments
DSCF5159.JPG

User avatar
agniusm   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2406
Joined: Apr 16 2011 3:06pm
Location: Lithuania, Zarasai
Contact:

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by agniusm » Sep 19 2012 4:17am

romelec wrote:Here is the modified BMS, I added a reed relay which consumes only 10mA at 5v.

I measured the current consumption, t's not so bad for this basic design.
- BMS without screen: 8mA
- BMS with screen: 9.1mA
- BMS with screen and relay: 10.4mA
Tell us more what the relay does and if possible small walkthrough.

Thanks

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 106
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Sep 19 2012 11:00am

I connected the relay between the 5v supply and the discharge mosfet output. The normally opened contact of the relay will be connected to the logic power supply wire of my Kelly controller (uses less than 100mA).

So in normal operation the relay is always energysed and the contact will be cut in case of undervoltage or overcurrent. The controller logic will be unpowered so the motor will stop.

dnmun   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 16190
Joined: Jun 09 2008 1:32pm
Location: portland, or and loveland, co

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by dnmun » Sep 19 2012 11:05am

why not just use a mosfet instead of a relay?

romelec   100 W

100 W
Posts: 106
Joined: Mar 11 2011 3:46pm
Location: Marseille, France

Re: foundingpower programmable bms

Post by romelec » Sep 20 2012 12:58pm

Why not, but it should be a P mosfet.

I don't have the correct transistors for this but I have a lot of these small relays.

Post Reply