Toshiba SCiB 24V 4.2Ah performance

krazykat

1 µW
Hello,

I am new to E-bikes. AndI am looking at a Schwinn Tailwind. This is a new bike but have concerns about the battery which has probably been in storage for some time. My question arises from the fact that the bike does not seem to be performing up to specs and the battery seems to be acting a bit odd.
The stated range is 20 miles. I am able to get about 16 miles on a flat gravel trail using the mid-range setting and peddling steadily with little effort.
The battery, a Toshiba SCiB 24V 4.2Ah, has 4 led lights, which when fully charged show 4 lights. After I have ridden about 9 miles it still shows 3 lights and after another 5 miles or so it shows 2 lights, then within the next mile or so it fails completely showing a dead battery. The manual warns against completely discharging the battery but this happens so fast as to be unpredictable . Is this proper battery behavior? Could it have been stored incorrectly?

Any help would be much appreciated,

John

If you really have a 24V 4.2Ah battery pack, I am surprised you get anywhere near 16 miles on a charge. That would be a 100.8 Wh battery pack. At a range of 16 miles, you would only be using 6.3 Wh/mile which if true is an excellent number.

According to nycewheels (http://www.nycewheels.com/schwinn-tailwind-electric-bike.html) their Schwinn Tailwind actually has a 29.4V 10Ah battery pack. That would be 294 Wh or 18.375 Wh/mile for 16 miles of range which is much more reasonable. To get 20 miles range out of this pack, you would need to limit your power consumption to 14.7 Wh/mile. This can be accomplished by pedaling more and/or going slower.