How to charge my lead acid batteries

Liam.great98

100 mW
I'm 15 years old, and I'm making an electric bike. I have two sealed lead acid batteries. They are both 12 volts, 12 amp hours. I also have a car battery charger that is capable of outputting 10 amps, or 2 amps. Instinctively, I think 10 amps is too high to charge my batteries. What about 2 amps though? And obviously I would be charging these 12 volt batteries individually, not in series or parallel.
Will this charger work if I set it to 2 amps? Are there any precautions I need to take, like unplugging it after a certain amount of time, or only charging the batteries when they're at a certain level, or something?
Thanks, I'm new to large batteries and charging. Not new to electronics, but I am not experienced with batteries much.

You should be fine on the 2A setting. Charge them as soon as possible after riding. Try not to run them completely dead, as this drastically reduces the number of cycles they last.

You could charge them in parallel at the same time if they are close in voltage when you combine them. This is usually kind of a pain though, as you have to connect/disconnect them every time.

I used to have a similar setup and charged one at a time. Just don't forget to charge both of them.

In some cases, it is possible to use two chargers at the same time, one on each cell. The trick here is the chargers need to be isolated on the output or you'll burn something up when the second one is connected. This can be tested with an ohmmeter. Any charger with a 2 prong AC plug will be isolated.

They can be charged in parallel? And I was planning on disconnecting them from the bike anyway. And i only have one charger. What is the lowest voltage I should ever runt gm down to? And lastly, how do I know when to stop charging? Thanks!